Breeders' Futurity Stakes | Race Profile

Race Events > Breeders' Futurity

Breeders' Futurity Stakes


Breeders' Futurity Stakes

PP M/L Horse  Jockey Wgt Trainer
1 3-1 Tap It to Win (FL)  T Gaffalione 121 M E Casse
2 6-1 By Your Side (KY)  C J Lanerie 121 E Kenneally
3 12-1 Life On the Road (KY)  S Bridgmohan 121 S M Asmussen
4 15-1 King Theo (KY)  F Prat 121 C Vaccarezza
5 15-1 Enforceable (KY)  F Geroux 121 M E Casse
6 12-1 Maxfield (KY)  J L Ortiz 121 B P Walsh
7 12-1 American Butterfly (KY)  M Mena 121 D W Lukas
8 3-1 Ajaaweed (KY)  J Rosario 121 K P McLaughlin
9 20-1 January Won (KY)  B J Hernandez, Jr. 121 K G McPeek
10 5-2 Gouverneur Morris (KY)  J Castellano 121 T A Pletcher

How to bet the Breeders' Futurity at Keeneland

Expert Pick for the Breeders' Futurity by Dick Powell

  • Top Picks for the Breeders' Futurity
    • #10 Gouverneur Morris
    • #1 Tap It To Win
    • #5 Enforceable
    • #8 Ajaaweed
  • Breeders' Futurity Bet
    • $20 Exacta
      • #10 with #1, #5, #8
    • $20 Exacta Box
      • #1, #10

Most recent running of the Breeders' Futurity

KnicksGo started as the longest shot in the field of 13, the 70-1 chance broke on top and led all the way under jockey Albin Jimenez. Posting fractions of :23.67, :47.59, and 1:12.68, Knicks Go opened up on the field in the short stretch and won easily by 5 1/2 lengths in a time of 1:44.23 for 1 1/16 miles on a fast track.

Breeders' Futurity Stakes Race History

The Breeders’ Futurity Stakes has been a Grade I race since 2004 and is held annually in early October at Keeneland Race Course in Lexington, KY. The race is open to 2-year-olds and run at 1 1/16 miles on the dirt. The Breeders’ Futurity is part of the ‘Road to the Kentucky Derby’, and awards the top-4 finishers (10-4-2-1) points towards qualifying for the Kentucky Derby.  

In addition to the Derby, the Breeders’ Futurity is part of the ‘Win and You’re In’ Breeders’ Cup Challenge series where the winner earns a spot in the $2 million Breeders’ Cup Juvenile. Classic Empire won both the Breeders’ Futurity and Breeders’ Cup Juvenile in 2016.

The Breeders Futurity was first raced in Lexington in 1910, and Polar Expedition (1993) has run the fastest time in 1:42.20. The 10-length margin of victory recorded by Gold Stage in 1979 is also a record. The race was contested at 7 furlongs for 30 years starting in 1950, and in 1981 changed to its current distance of 1 1/16 miles.

The Breeders’ Futurity currently offers a purse of $500,000. Several champions have won the race, including Round Table (1956), Swale (1983), Forty Niner (1987), Boston Harbor (1996), Favorite Trick (1997) and the most recent Classic Empire (2016), who went on to win the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile and capture Champion 2-year-old honors. Other top horses to have captured the race include Tejano Run, Honour and Glory, Cat Thief, Captain Steve and Dullahan.

Jockey Don Brumfield won a record 5 Breeders’ Futurity races over a decade starting in 1969. Trainer D. Wayne Lukas won the race a record 6 times.

Breeders' Futurity Stakes Past Winners

Breeders' Futurity Winners List

Date Horse
10/7/18 KnicksGo
10/6/18 Complexity
10/7/17 Free Drop Billy
10/8/16 Classic Empire
10/3/15 Brody's Cause
10/4/14 Carpe Diem
10/5/13 We Miss Artie
10/6/12 Joha
10/8/11 Dullahan
10/9/10 J. B.'s Thunder
10/10/09 Noble's Promise
10/4/08 Square Eddie
10/6/07 Wicked Style
10/7/06 Great Hunter
10/8/05 Dawn of War
10/9/04 Consolidator
10/4/03 Eurosilver
10/5/02 Sky Mesa
10/6/01 Siphonic
10/8/00 Arabian Light
10/10/99 Captain Steve
10/18/98 Cat Thief
10/18/97 Favorite Trick
10/11/96 Boston Harbor
10/8/95 Honour and Glory
10/23/94 Tejano Run
10/24/93 Polar Expedition
10/18/92 Mountain Cat
10/20/91 Dance Floor
10/12/90 Sir Bordeaux
10/13/89 Slavic
10/20/88 Fast Play
10/30/87 Forty Niner
10/10/86 Orono
10/19/85 Tasso
10/20/84 Crater Fire
10/8/83 Swale
10/16/82 Highland Park
10/24/81 D'Accord
10/4/80 Fairway Phantom
10/13/79 Gold Stage
10/7/78 Strike Your Colors
10/8/77 Gonquin
10/9/76 Run Dusty Run


$200 Sign Up Bonus
Log In
My Twinspires
Quick Links