Iroquois Stakes | Race Profile

Race Events > Iroquois Stakes

Iroquois Stakes

Iroquois Stakes


Most recent running

The Tabulator won the 2017 Iroquois Stakes at Churchill Downs defeating Hollywood Star and Ten City. With his victory, The Tabulator was awarded the first points on the 2017-2018 Road to the Kentucky Derby. Those 10 points hoisted him to the top of the leaderboard for a while.

Iroquois Stakes Race History

The Iroquois Stakes is run at Churchill Downs in Louisville, KY in mid-September.  It’s the first graded stakes race for Thoroughbred horses on opening day at the Churchill Downs Fall Meet. The race is open to 2-year-olds and is part of the ‘Road to the Kentucky Derby’. It’s the first race of the tiered points system that awards Derby points to the top-4 finishers (10-4-2-1).

In addition to the Derby, the Iroquois is a stop on the Breeders’ Cup Challenge series where the winner earns a start in the $2 million Breeders’ Cup Juvenile. In the 2016 Iroquois, Not This Time finished full of run to win going away by more than 8 lengths over Lookin at Lee, who would go on to finish 2nd in the 2017 Kentucky Derby. Not This Time, a son of the great sire Giant’s Causeway, finished 2nd by a neck to Classic Empire in his next race as the favorite in the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile. A very unfortunate soft tissue injury to his front right leg during that race ended the promising career of the striking dark bay colt, as Not This Time was an early leading contender for the Kentucky Derby.    

The Iroquois (pronounced Ear-Ah-Coy) is named for Iroquois, the first American horse to win the English Epsom Derby. Prior to 2013 the race was one mile on the dirt track, and open to juveniles only. Since 2013, the Grade III race has been run at a distance of  1 1⁄16 miles, and the Iroquois currently offers a purse of $150,000.

Harlan’s Holiday (2001) held the fastest one mile record in the Iroquois (1:35.01). In the most recent four editions of the 1 1/16 mile race, Cocked and Loaded (2015) finished with the best time in 1:44.94.
Bill Mott is the trainer with the most wins in the Iroquois (4), and Dale Romans has won two of the last four races since it changed to 1 1/16 miles.

Iroquois Stakes Past Winners

Date Horse
9/16/2017 The Tabulator
9/17/2016 Not This Time
9/12/2015 Cocked and Loaded
9/6/2014 Lucky Player
9/7/2013 Cleburne
10/28/2012 Uncaptured
10/30/2011 Motor City
10/31/2010 Astrology
11/1/2009 Thiskyhasnolimit
11/1/2008 Capt. Candyman Can
10/28/2007 Court Vision
10/29/2006 Tiz Wonderful
11/5/2005 Catcominatcha
11/6/2004 Straight Line
11/2/2003 The Cliff's Edge
11/3/2002 Champali
11/4/2001 Harlan's Holiday
11/4/2000 Meetyouathebrig
11/6/1999 Mighty
11/7/1998 Exploit
11/1/1997 Keene Dancer
11/2/1996 Global View
11/5/1995 Ide
11/5/1994 Peruvian
11/7/1993 Tarzans Blade
11/8/1992 Shoal Creek
11/2/1991 Portroe
11/3/1990 Richman
11/4/1989 Insurrection
11/5/1988 Dansil
11/15/1987 Buoy
11/8/1986 Icetrain
11/9/1985 Tile
11/3/1984 Banner Bob
10/31/1983 Taylor's Special
11/6/1982 Highland Park


$200 Sign Up Bonus
Log In
My Twinspires
Quick Links