Robert B. Lewis Stakes | Race Profile

Race Events > Robert B. Lewis Stakes

Robert B. Lewis Stakes

SHAPIRO: Shapiro Gives Peace a Chance when Betting the Lewis Stakes

The Robert B. Lewis Stakes is a ‘Road to the Kentucky Derby’ prep race held annually in early February at Santa Anita Park in Arcadia, CA. The race is open to 3-year-olds and is the second Derby prep at Santa Anita to start the New Year. The top four finishers are rewarded with Kentucky Derby qualifying points (10-4-2-1). The Grade III race at 1 1/16 miles (8.5 furlongs) has a current purse of $150,000 and is also a key prep race for the Santa Anita Derby in early April.

The Robert B. Lewis stakes was originally called the Santa Catalina Handicap in 1935. In 2007, it was renamed to honor the prominent racehorse owner and philanthropist who died in 2006.

The speed record for the 1 1/16 mile race is 1:40.76 set by Crown of Thoms in 2008. Jockey Bill Shoemaker won the race a record seven times with his last in 1988. Current trainer Bob Baffert has won the race a record six times, and was a regular trainer for Robert B. Lewis.

Notable winners of the Robert B. Lewis Stakes include Kentucky Derby winner Ferdinand (1986, Bill Shoemaker), Sham (1973 when Laffit Pincay, Jr. won the race a third straight time), Dortmund (2015, trainer Bob Baffert), Kentucky Derby and Preakness winner I’ll Have Another (2012), and Pioneer of the Nile (2009 with the late Garrett Gomez riding for Bob Baffert). Pioneer of the Nile finished 2nd in the Kentucky Derby and was the sire of Triple Crown winner American Pharoah.

Other Robert B. Lewis Stakes winners that also won the Santa Anita Derby include: Sham (1973), An Act (1976), Larry the Legend (1995), General Challenge (1999), The Deputy (2000), Brother Derek (2006) and I’ll Have Another (2012). 

Bob and Beverly Lewis were generally beloved and admired, and they graced the sports with a rare brand of dignity and class. The race named in Bob’s honor represents his wisdom, class and character, and his love for the sport, California racing and the Kentucky Derby.   

Robert Lewis Past Winners List

Date Horse
2/4/2017 Royal Mo
2/6/2016 Mor Spirit
2/7/2015 Dortmund
2/8/2014 Candy Boy
2/2/2013 Flashback
2/4/2012 I'll Have Another
2/12/2011 Anthony's Cross
2/13/2010 Caracortado
2/7/2009 Pioneerof the Nile
2/2/2008 Crown of Thorns
3/3/2007 Great Hunter
3/4/2006 Brother Derek
3/5/2005 Declan's Moon
1/17/2004 St Averil
1/18/2003 Domestic Dispute
1/19/2002 Labamta Babe
1/21/2001 Millennium Wind
1/30/2000 The Deputy (IRE)
1/31/1999 General Challenge
2/1/1998 Artax
2/2/1997 Hello (IRE)
2/4/1996 Prince of Thieves
2/8/1995 Larry the Legend
1/22/1994 Wekiva Springs
1/27/1993 Art of Living
1/29/1992 Vying Victor
1/30/1991 Mane Minister
2/7/1990 Music Prospector
2/8/1989 Flying Continental
2/10/1988 Lively One
1/28/1987 Stylish Winner
1/29/1986 Ferdinand
2/6/1985 Floating Reserve
3/14/1984 Tights
3/16/1983 Fast Passage
2/20/1982 Water Bank
2/21/1981 Stancharry
2/20/1980 Rumbo
2/20/1980 Super Moment
2/22/1979 Pole Position
2/25/1978 Johnny's Image
2/9/1977 Text
2/19/1976 An Act


$200 Sign Up Bonus
Log In
My Twinspires
Quick Links