UAE Derby | Race Profile

Race Events > Dubai World Cup > UAE Derby

| Profile | Betting |

UAE Derby

Download this FREE UAE Derby tip sheet from

17:30, TB – Group 2, 1900M(a9.5F) – Dirt, USD 2,000,000
Official RatingHorseWeightAgeTrainer
117MENDELSSOHN (USA)573 yrs A O’Brien
113GOLD TOWN (GB)573 yrs C Appleby
112SEAHENGE (USA)573 yrs A O’Brien
110TAIKI FERVEUR (JPN)573 yrs M Makiura
107RUGGERO (JPN)573 yrs Y Shikato
104RERIDE (USA)573 yrs S Asmussen
101YULONG WARRIOR (USA)573 yrs S Seemar
105RAYYA (USA)553 yrs D Watson

UAE Derby Race History

The UAE (United Arab Emirates) Derby is held each year in March as part of the Dubai World Cup Night. It is held at the Meydan Racecourse in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. It is a group two flat (level racecourse) horse race held on a dirt surface, left-handed track at a distance of 1 3/16 miles (or 9.5 furlongs). It has also run at distances of nine and ten furlongs. Three-year-olds from both the Northern and Southern Hemisphere are free to compete in the UAE Derby.

The UAE Derby first became an official race in 2000, and was given group two designation two years later, and it has been part of the Kentucky Derby prep race circuit since 2013. It is one of seven races to award 100 Road to the Kentucky Derby qualifying points to the winner. The UAE Derby offers a $2 million (USD) purse.

The largest field size for an UAE Derby race is 16 (2000) and the smallest field size is 9 (2004).

WATCH: When and where to watch the 2018 Dubai World Cup

UAE Derby Records

The biggest margin of victory at the UAE Derby is 12 lengths, which was set by Blues and Royals in 2005.

The record for fastest time at the UAE Derby is 1:47.04, set by Express Tour in 2001 at the shorter 9-furlong distance. The fastest recorded time at its current 10-furlong distance is 1:57.44, set by Musir in 2010.

The record for most UAE Derby wins by a jockey is three, held by Christophe Soumillon (2010, 2015, 2017). The record for most wins by a trainer and most wins by an owner is eight, set by Saeed bin Suroor and Godolphin Racing, respectively (2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2011, 2017). The 2017 UAE Derby, won by Thunder Snow, was the first and only time Soumillon, bin Suroor, and Godolphin Racing won the race as a tripod.

UAE Derby Winners

With the UAE Derby existing only since 2010, the list of notable winners is quite short. A couple of noteworthy UAE Derby winners includes Discreet Cat (2006 Jerome Breeders’ Cup Handicap winner and 1996 Co-World Champion Three-Year-Old), and Thunder Snow (2016 Top-Rated British Two-Year-Old).