2014 Kentucky Derby Future Wager Pool #2

February 6-8, 2014

With fewer than 90 days remaining before the 140th running of the Kentucky Derby Presented by Yum! Brands (Grade I), Churchill Downs oddsmaker Mike Battaglia ranks Cairo Prince, unbeaten champion Shared Belief and Honor Code as the most attractive individual horses featured in this week’s second pool of the 2014 Kentucky Derby Future Wager (“KDFW”).

Battaglia has installed “All Others” as the 7-5 morning line favorite over the 23 individual horses on the roster of wagering interests for KDFW Pool 2. The pool will offer $2 minimum win wagering on all interests, along with exacta betting.

Wagering on KDFW Pool 2 will begin Thursday, Feb. 6 at noon (all times Eastern) and is scheduled to close on Saturday, Feb. 8 at 6 p.m. or prior to the post time for the $200,000 Robert B. Lewis (GII) at Santa Anita, whichever comes first. The Robert B. Lewis is Saturday’s stop on the “Road to the Kentucky Derby” Prep Season schedule.

This week’s KDFW pool is the first of 2014, but the second of the pre-Kentucky Derby 140 season following the Nov. 27-30 opening pool – the first autumn pool conducted by Churchill Downs since it introduced the ground-breaking pari-mutuel wager in 1999. The November pool concluded with “All Others” as the odds-on favorite at 4-5, followed by favored individual Honor Code at 10-1 and the now-retired Breeders’ Cup Juvenile (GI) winner New Year’s Day at 15-1. Cairo Prince stood at 26-1 and Shared Belief was a 32-1 risk at the conclusion of the opening pool.

The Kentucky Derby Future Wager provides fans with the opportunity to wager on contenders for America’s greatest race well in advance of the race at odds the could be much more attractive than those available on the day of the race.

The 140th running of the $2 million-guaranteed Kentucky Derby Presented by Yum! Brands is scheduled for Saturday, May 3 at Churchill Downs and will be televised by NBC Sports.

Along with the $2-minimum win betting, KDFW pools offer exacta wagering in the form of $2 minimum straight exacta bets or $1-minimum exacta boxes and part-wheels. No scratches or betting refunds are permitted in the Kentucky Derby Future Wager. Betting on an individual horse in the pool will be suspended immediately if Churchill Downs determines during the pool that injury, illness or other circumstance would prevent the horse from competing in their respective race.

All winning Pool 2 payouts will be determined by the odds in place at Saturday’s conclusion of wagering.

Along with Cairo Prince, Shared Belief and Honor Code, major returnees from November’s opening pool include Grade I winners Strong Mandate (#18), winner of the Hopeful (GI) and a 27-1 shot in Pool 1 for four-time Kentucky Derby winner D. Wayne Lukas, and Champagne (GI) winner Havana (#7), a 26-1 risk in the opening pool and one of four Pool 2 individuals trained by six-time Eclipse Award winner Todd Pletcher.

Pool 2 of the Kentucky Derby Future Wager features 14 individual wagering interests that were not a part of November’s opening pool. The new interests are California Chrome (#3), Candy Boy (#4), Conquest Titan (#6), Indianapolis (#9), Intense Holiday (#10), Kristo (#11), Matterhorn (#12), Midnight Hawk (#13), Samraat (#16), Tapiture (#19), Tonalist (#20), Top Billing (#21), Uncle Sigh (#22) and Vicar’s in Trouble (#23).

New wagering interests that could attract strong fan interest in KDFW Pool 2 include Top Billing (#21), a McGaughey-trained son of two-time Horse of the Year Curlin who has won two of three races and was an impressive winner of a 1 1/16-mile allowance race at Gulfstream Park on Jan. 25; a pair of unbeaten stakes winners in Indianapolis (#9) and Midnight Hawk (#13), both trained by three-time Kentucky Derby winner Bob Baffert and each listed at 20-1 in Battaglia’s morning line odds; Kentucky Jockey Club (GII) winner Tapiture (#19), a 20-1 risk for trainer Steve Asmussen, and Vicar’s in Trouble (#23), an easy winner of the Lecomte (GIII) at Fair Grounds saddled by Mike Maker. The latter two individuals open the pool at 20-1.

Pletcher, who has nominated a record 42 horses to the 2014 Kentucky Derby and Triple Crown, leads all trainers with four KDFW Pool 2 betting interests. Along with Havana (#7), Pletcher trainees in the pool include Commissioner (#5), Intense Holiday (#10) and Matterhorn (#12).

McGaughey trains two wagering interests in Honor Code (#8) and Top Billing (#21), joining Baffert and John Sadler (#4 Candy Boy and #11 Kristo) with a pair of horses in the pool.

Wagering interests for the Kentucky Derby Future Wager pool were selected by a panel consisting of veteran turf writer Gary West; Daily Racing Form West Coast Correspondent and HRTV analyst Brad Free, Brisnet Director of Marketing Ed DeRosa, and Churchill Downs’ John Asher.

Free Brisnet past performances for Pool 2 of the Kentucky Derby Future Wager

Click here to view the roster of wagering interests in Kentucky Derby Future Wager Pool 2.

Real-time odds and other information on the KDFW are available at the official event Web site at www.KentuckyDerby.com.  The Kentucky Oaks' official event Web site is www.KentuckyOaks.com. Real time odds will be presented on that site throughout the 2013 KOFW pool.

The $2 million Kentucky Derby will be run for the 140th consecutive year at Churchill Downs on May 3. The $1 million Kentucky Oaks will be run in its traditional calendar location on May 2, the eve of the "Run for the Roses."


YearWinnerPool 1Pool 2Pool 3Derby Day
2013Orb$4.40 (f)$26.20$29.60$12.80
2012I'll Have Another$60.20$46.20$45.60$32.60
2011Animal Kingdom$6.20 (f)$9.40 (f)$64.40$43.80
2010Super Saver$43.20$51.20$73.00$18.00
2009Mine That Bird$5.80 (f) *$11.80 (f) *$36.80 (f)$103.20
2008Big Brown$8.60 (f)*$15.00 (f)$8.60*$6.80*
2007Street Sense$22.80$18.20$15.40$11.80*
2006Barbaro$40.20$32.20$20.80 $14.20
2005Giacomo$52.00 $54.20$103.60 $102.60
2004Smarty Jones$5.60 (f)$10.80 (f) $23.60 $10.20*
2003Funny Cide$188.00*** $120.80$23.60$27.60 
2002War Emblem$7.60 (f)* $16.00$24.00$43.00 
2001Monarchos $36.60 $13.00$15.80 $23.00 
2000Fusaichi Pegasus$27.80 $26.40 (f)$ 8.00* $ 6.60* 
1999Charismatic $10.20 (f)* $30.20 (f)$26.60 (f)$64.60

(f) – Mutuel field  *Favorite  ***Record KDFW win payout


YearWagering PayoutPool 1Pool2Pool 3Payout
2012Believe You Can$74.80No PoolNo Pool$29.60
2011Plum Pretty$21.80 (f)No PoolNo Pool-
2010Blind Luck$10.00No PoolNo Pool$4.60
2009Rachel Alexandra$8.40No PoolNo Pool$2.60*
2008Proud Spell$15.60$14.20$15.60 $8.80*
2007Rags to Riches  $9.60 $10.00* $5.00* $5.00* 
2006Lemons Forever  $9.00 (f)* $11.00 (f)*$26.00 (f) $96.20 
2005Summerly$31.80 $15.00$28.40 $11.20
2004Ashado $48.40***$21.00  $17.80 $6.60*
2003Bird Town $33.60 No Pool  No Pool  $38.40 

(f) – Mutuel field *Favorite ***Record KDFW win payout

Past Kentucky Derby Future Wager Information

2013 Kentucky Derby Future Wager