Race Events > Kentucky Derby

Bet on the 2022 Kentucky Derby at TwinSpires

Experience the excitement of the 2022 Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs on Saturday, May 7th. Wager online with TwinSpires! Signing up is easy, and we’ll provide your new account with a risk-free betting opportunity for your first WIN bet. TwinSpires will refund your first win bet up to $50, if your horse doesn’t finish first.

Register today & bet on the Kentucky Derby online!

TwinSpires is the Official Kentucky Derby Betting Partner.

Special Offer

Register for the 1st time with promo code ‘FREE50’ & get 14 days to deposit and place a first WIN bet, risk-free, up to $50. We will refund your $50 bet if your horse doesn’t win! Members can wager free at 300+ horse tracks worldwide, with exclusive access to major events including the 2022 Kentucky Derby.

iPhone, Android, or Laptop

Bet anywhere. TwinSpires gives you an instant wagering advantage. Our advanced betting and handicapping tools with real-time technology give you the ability to adjust your bets as race information changes, right up to post time.

Security, Integrity, Tradition

TwinSpires, part of publicly-traded Churchill Downs (NASDAQ: CHDN), is the official online wagering home of the Kentucky Derby. TwinSpires delivers the ultimate horseracing experience, with the latest in technology for wagering that’s safe and secure.

Kentucky Derby 148 Race Info

  • Current Distance: 1 & 1/4 miles (10 furlongs)
  • Track Type: Left-Handed Dirt
  • Age Qualification: Three-year-olds
  • 2022 Purse: $3 million
  • 2022 Race Date: Saturday, May 7th

2021 Kentucky Derby Results

8Medina SpiritBob Baffert / John Velazquez$26.20 / $12.00 / $7.60
7MandalounBrad Cox / Florent Geroux$23.00 / $13.40
9Hot Rod CharlieDoug O'Neill / Flavien Prat$5.20
14Essential QualityBrad Cox / Luis Saez
6O BesosGreg Foley / Marcelino Pedroza
10Midnight BourbonSteve Asmussen / Mike Smith
4KeepmeinmindRobertino Diodoro / David Cohen
12HeliumMark Casse / Julien Leparoux
1Known AgendaTodd Pletcher / Irad Ortiz Jr.
17Highly MotivatedChad Brown / Javier Castellano
5SainthoodTodd Pletcher / Corey Lanerie
2Like the KingWesley Ward / Drayden Van Dyke
20BourbonicTodd Pletcher / Kendrick Carmouche
13Hidden StashVicki Oliver / Rafael Bejarano
3Brooklyn StrongDaniel Velazquez / Umberto Rispoli
18Super StockSteve Asmussen / Ricardo Santana Jr.
15Rock Your WorldJohn Sadler / Joel Rosario
11Dynamic OneTodd Pletcher / Jose Ortiz
19Soup and SandwichMark Casse / Tyler Gaffalione

Exotic Payouts:

  • $2 Exacta: $503.60
  • $0.50 Trifecta: $848.45
  • $1 Superfecta: $9,456.40
  • $1 Super High Five: $296,769.60

Watch the 2021 Kentucky Derby

Watch as Medina Spirit takes an early lead and runs a commanding race, earning a wire-to-wire victory in the 147th edition of the Kentucky Derby

Kentucky Derby History

The Run for the Roses. The Greatest Two Minutes in Sports. No matter what moniker you care to use, the Kentucky Derby has become an American institution. Its date – the first Saturday in May – is unforgettable, its location – Churchill Downs with its Twin Spires – iconic.

First run in 1875 and patterned after the English Derby at Epsom Downs, the inaugural Kentucky Derby was won by Aristides over 1 1/2 miles, which remained the Derby distance until 1896 when it was shortened to 1 1/4 miles.

“I do not care if she never wins another race, nor if she ever starts in another race, she has won the greatest race in America and I am satisfied,” owner Harry Payne Whitney remarked when Regret became the first filly ever to win the Kentucky Derby in 1915. In so doing, he validated Churchill Downs president Col. Matt Winn’s efforts to make the Derby the most important and prestigious brand in American racing, a position it’s held for more than a century.

The starting point of the Triple Crown, the Kentucky Derby, has witnessed all 13 of the series’ winners, from Sir Barton in 1919 to Justify in 2018. The Derby counted as one of the mighty Citation’s 16 consecutive victories, while Secretariat, who many consider the greatest Thoroughbred ever seen on the American turf, maintains the Derby race record of 1:59.40.

For the non-Triple Crown winner, a victory in the Kentucky Derby nonetheless ensures a spot in the sport’s pantheon. It’s counted among the highlights in the careers of such Hall of Fame performers as Exterminator, Swaps, Northern Dancer, Spectacular Bid, Alysheba, and Sunday Silence, plus the fillies Genuine Risk and Winning Colors.

The human element is also woven deeply into the Derby fabric. The father-son trainer combo of Ben and H.A. “Jimmy” Jones graced the Derby winner’s circle a collective eight times from 1938 through 1958. Among jockeys, the legendary Eddie Arcaro and Bill Hartack each captured the classic five times. Among Arcaro’s quintet were the Triple Crown winners Whirlaway and Citation.

Befitting its position as the most sought-after prize in racing, the Derby is also well known for its attendance and viewership, as well as the amount of betting it generates. Crowds of more than 150,000 have become commonplace at the hallowed Louisville course, while television ratings exceed those of any other race in the country and nearly all other sporting events on the day.

Betting on the Kentucky Derby Day card hovers around $200 million, a large chunk of it on the Derby itself as the only race throughout the year with as many as 20 starters. Interest on betting the Derby is not only at an all-time high, but begins months beforehand with the Kentucky Derby Future Wager (KDFW) offered four times throughout the winter and spring at various tracks, off-track facilities, and online platforms like TwinSpires.com.

With Derby thoughts immediately swirling at the sight a good-looking two-year-old winner, the Kentucky Derby has truly become a year-round phenomenon.