2014 Kentucky Derby Future Wager Pool #3

The third of four pools of Churchill Downs Racetrack’s 2014 Kentucky Derby Future Wager (“KDFW”) opens its run on Thursday with Cairo Prince (#3) and Top Billing (#20) sharing the role of favored individual horses, but the everpopular ‘All Others’ (#24) figures to be the overall betting choice when three days of Derby Future betting concludes early Saturday evening.

KDFW Pool 3 opens Thursday, Feb. 27 at noon (all times Eastern) and will close at post time of Saturday’s Grade III Gotham Stakes at Aqueduct, which is scheduled for 4:17 p.m.

The 1 1/16-mile Gotham is this week’s stop on the Championship Season schedule of the “Road to the Kentucky Derby” Presented by TwinSpires.com, the point system that determines the eligibility of the maximum field of 20 horses that will compete in the $2 million-guaranteed Kentucky Derby Presented by Yum! Brands (GI) at Churchill Downs on Saturday, May 3.

The Mutuel Field includes all 3-year-old Thoroughbreds other than the 23 individual horses in the roster of wagering interests for the Derby Future bet, which was launched in 1999.

Pool 3 of the 2014 Kentucky Derby Future Wager will run concurrently with the year’s only Kentucky Oaks Future Wager pool. The Oaks Future pool is scheduled to conclude at post time for Saturday’s $100,000-added Santa Ysabel (GIII) at Santa Anita, or 6 p.m., whichever comes first.

The Kentucky Derby Future Wager enables racing fans to place wagers on contenders for America’s greatest race well in advance of Derby Day at odds that could be much more attractive than those available on the day of the event. The Derby Future bet is a $2 minimum win wager, and exacta betting is also available as either a $2 minimum wager or as a $1 minimum bet in exacta boxes and other combinations.

Other horses expected to attract significant support in KDFW Pool 3 include unbeaten Shared Belief (#16), the 2-yearold champion of 2013 for Hall of Fame trainer Jerry Hollendorfer who is listed at 12-1; the Steve Asmussen-trained Tapiture (#19, 15-1), an impressive winner of last week’s Southwest (GIII) at Oaklawn Park and winner of the Kentucky Jockey Club (GII) in November at Churchill Downs; Starlight Racing’s Intense Holiday (#11, 15-1), who rallied to win Saturday’s Risen Star (GII) at Fair Grounds for trainer Todd Pletcher; Bayern (#2, 15-1), a 15-length winner of a recent Santa Anita allowance race for his second win in as many starts for three-time Kentucky Derby-winning trainer Bob Baffert; C R K Stable’s Candy Boy (#5, 20-1) winner of the Grade II Robert B. Lewis at Santa Anita for trainer John Sadler, Constitution (#7, 20-1), an impressive allowance winner for Pletcher on Saturday at Gulfstream Park; Strong Mandate (#17, 20-1), winner of the Hopeful (GI) and runner-up to Tapiture in the Southwest for four-time Kentucky Derby winner and Hall of Fame trainer D. Wayne Lukas; Indianapolis (#10, 20-1), Baffert’s unbeaten winner of the San Pedro; Kobe’s Back (#12, 20-1), an impressive stretch-running winner of the San Vicente (GII) at Santa Anita; and Wildcat Red (#23, 20-1) and General a Rod (#8, 20-1), who enter the pool off a stirring 1-2 finish in Saturday’s Fountain of Youth.

No scratches or betting refunds are permitted in the Kentucky Derby Future Wager. Betting on an individual horse in the pool will be suspended immediately if Churchill Downs determines during the pool that injury, illness or other circumstance wouldprevent the horse from competing in their respective race.

Individual betting interests for the Kentucky Derby Future Wager pools are established by a committee that includes veteran racing journalist Gary West; Brad Free, a West Coast correspondent for the Daily Racing Form and HRTV; Ed DeRosa, director of marketing for BRISNET; and John Asher, vice president of Racing Communications for Churchill Downs.

The fourth and final KDFW Pool is scheduled for March 27-29.

Real-time odds and other information on the KDFW are available at the official event Web site at www.KentuckyDerby.com, and information on the KOFW is available at www.KentuckyOaks.com.

Free Brisnet past performances for Pool 3 of the Kentucky Derby Future Wager

Click here to view the roster of wagering interests in Kentucky Derby Future Wager Pool 3

Free Brisnet past performances for the Kentucky Oaks Future Wager

Click here to view the roster of wagering interests in the Kentucky Oaks Future Wager

The $2 million Kentucky Derby will be run for the 140th consecutive year at Churchill Downs on May 3. The $1 million Kentucky Oaks will be run in its traditional calendar location on May 2, the eve of the "Run for the Roses."

Year Winner Pool 1 Pool 2 Pool 3 Derby Day
2013 Orb $4.40 (f) $26.20 $29.60 $12.80
2012 I'll Have Another $60.20 $46.20 $45.60 $32.60
2011 Animal Kingdom $6.20 (f) $9.40 (f) $64.40 $43.80
2010 Super Saver $43.20 $51.20 $73.00 $18.00
2009 Mine That Bird $5.80 (f) * $11.80 (f) * $36.80 (f) $103.20
2008 Big Brown $8.60 (f)* $15.00 (f) $8.60* $6.80*
2007 Street Sense $22.80 $18.20 $15.40 $11.80*
2006 Barbaro $40.20 $32.20 $20.80  $14.20
2005 Giacomo $52.00  $54.20 $103.60  $102.60
2004 Smarty Jones $5.60 (f) $10.80 (f)  $23.60  $10.20*
2003 Funny Cide $188.00***  $120.80 $23.60 $27.60 
2002 War Emblem $7.60 (f)*  $16.00 $24.00 $43.00 
2001 Monarchos  $36.60  $13.00 $15.80  $23.00 
2000 Fusaichi Pegasus $27.80  $26.40 (f) $ 8.00*  $ 6.60* 
1999 Charismatic  $10.20 (f)*  $30.20 (f) $26.60 (f) $64.60

(f) – Mutuel field  *Favorite  ***Record KDFW win payout


Year Wagering Payout Pool 1 Pool2 Pool 3 Payout
2012 Believe You Can $74.80 No Pool No Pool $29.60
2011 Plum Pretty $21.80 (f) No Pool No Pool -
2010 Blind Luck $10.00 No Pool No Pool $4.60
2009 Rachel Alexandra $8.40 No Pool No Pool $2.60*
2008 Proud Spell $15.60 $14.20 $15.60  $8.80*
2007 Rags to Riches   $9.60  $10.00*  $5.00*  $5.00* 
2006 Lemons Forever   $9.00 (f)*  $11.00 (f)* $26.00 (f)  $96.20 
2005 Summerly $31.80  $15.00 $28.40  $11.20
2004 Ashado  $48.40*** $21.00   $17.80  $6.60*
2003 Bird Town  $33.60  No Pool   No Pool   $38.40 

(f) – Mutuel field *Favorite ***Record KDFW win payout

Past Kentucky Derby Future Wager Information

2013 Kentucky Derby Future Wager