Dubai Golden Shaheen | Race Profile

Race Events > Dubai World Cup > Golden Shaheen

Dubai Golden Shaheen

2018 Golden Shaheen Horses

18:40, TB - Group I, 1200M(a6F) - Dirt, USD 2,000,000
Official RatingHorseWeightAgeTrainer
122ROY H (USA)576 yrs P Miller
120MIND YOUR BISCUITS (USA)575 yrs C Summers
119D B PIN (NZ)575 yrs J Size
112MUARRAB (GB)579 yrs A Al Rayhi
112MY CATCH (IRE)577 yrs D Watson
112X Y JET (USA)576 yrs J Navarro
110JORDAN SPORT (GB)575 yrs F Nass
105MATERA SKY (USA)574 yrs H Mori
105SHILLONG (GB)575 yrs H Al Alawi
100WILD DUDE (USA)578 yrs A bin Harmash

Golden Shaheen Information

The Golden Shaheen Sprint (G1) was inaugurated in 1996 and the 1,200 meter (6 furlongs) sprint is run as part of Dubai World Cup night, which since 2010 has been held at Meydan Racecourse in Dubai, UAE the end of March. The Group 1 race for 3-year-olds and up offers a purse of $2 million with $1.2 million to the winner. In 2016 Muarrab set the speed record of 1:10.59.

Prior to 2010, the Golden Shaheen was run at Nad Al Sheba Racecourse, and in 2012 the Dubai Golden Shaheen joined Global Sprint Challenge and represents the third leg of the ten-race series.

Runners in the Golden Shaheen have often raced in the Breeders’ Cup Sprint (G1) and some will come from the Palos Verdes (G2) at Santa Anita. The Gulfstream Park Sprint in early February is another prep race to consider. But a number of local preps provide plenty of runners for the Golden Shaheen. The 1 mile Firebreak Stakes (UAE-1) in mid-February at Meydan is one to watch despite a longer distance, and the 1,200 meter Al Shindagha Sprint in early February produces runners for the Golden Shaheen. Muarrab finished 2nd in the Al Shindagha in both 2016 and 2017 before running in the Golden Shaheen.  

The Dubawi Stakes (G3) in mid-January is a 1,200 meter race at Meydan that produces at least a few domestic runners for the Golden Shaheen. The other race to pay close attention to is the Mahab Al Shimaal (G3) in early March. The 1,200 meter sprint was won by Muarrab in 2016 before he followed with the record time win in the Golden Shaheen.