Dubai World Cup Winners & Records

Race Events > Dubai World Cup > Winners & Records


Dubai World Cup | Odds & Entries | Winners & Records


Dubai World Cup All-Time Winners

YearWinner (Country)Jockey / TrainerAge / Time
Laurel River
Tadhg O'Shea / Bhupat Seemar
6 / 02:02.31
Ushba Tesoro (JPN)
Yuga Kawada / Noboru Takagi
6 / 02:03.25
Country Grammer (USA)
Frankie Dettori / Bob Baffert
5 / 02:04.97
Mystic Guide (US)
Luis Saez / Michael Stidham
4 / 02:01.61
Cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
Thunder Snow (IRE)
Christophe Soumillon / Saeed bin Suroor
5 / 02:03.6
Thunder Snow (IRE)
Christophe Soumillon / Saeed bin Suroor
4 / 02:01.4
Arrogate (US)
Mike E. Smith / Bob Baffert
4 / 02:02.5
California Chrome (US)
Victor Espinoza / Art Sherman
5 / 02:01.8
Prince Bishop (IRE)
William Buick / Saeed bin Suroor
8 / 02:03.2
Trophy icon

Most Wins

2 - Thunder Snow (2018 & 2019)
Trophy icon

Most Wins by Trainer

9 - Saeed bin Suroor (1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2014, 2015, 2018, 2019)
Trophy icon

Fastest Time

1:59.5 - Dubai Millennium (2000)

North American Dubai World Cup Winners

The Dubai World Cup is the richest horse race in the entire world, offering a purse of $12,000,000. Founded in 1996, this race is contested over an arduous distance of 1 ¼ miles on the dirt track at Meydan Racecourse. It is run annually on the last Saturday in March and routinely attracts the best talent from around the globe.

Of the 25 champions, 12 have been North American born. In fact, the first ever winner was Cigar, who scored in the 1996 Dubai World Cup in between his 1995 and 1996 Breeders’ Cup Classic wins. Cigar is one of a number of Hall of Fame horses who have entered the winner’s circle in this illustrious race.

Silver Charm scored in the 1998 Dubai World Cup one year after winning the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes in 1997. He was famously upset by Touch Gold in the Belmont Stakes. Nearly a decade later, Silver Charm was inducted in to the Hall of Fame with the 2007 class.

The next American born winner was Captain Steve. Listed at 7/4 alongside Best of the Bests (IRE) in the 2001 Dubai World Cup. Throughout an up-and-down career, Captain Steve finished 9-3-7 over 25 starts. The 2001 DWC would be his final victory as he returned home to cap off his career with a pair of 4th place finishes in the Hollywood Gold Cup and the Pacific Classic.

Pleasantly Perfect not only surged at Santa Anita to win the 2003 Breeders’ Cup Classic, his follow-up performance in the 2004 Dubai World Cup proved that he was no fluke. He beat the highly regarded Medaglia d’Oro in both races. Pleasantly Perfect would cap his career off by finishing third at the 2004 Breeders’ Cup Classic behind Ghostzapper and Roses in May, who would also win the 2005 Dubai World Cup before sustaining a career ending injury.

The following season, Electrocutionist would win the 2006 Dubai World Cup despite a undetected heart condition that should have made it impossible for him to perform at the level that he did. Despite being born in the United States, Electrocutionist was owned by Godolphin and run primarily in Europe where he won the 2005 Juddmonte International and the Gran Premio di Milano amongst many other.  

The one and only Curlin reigned supreme in the 2008 Dubai World Cup as part of a Hall of Fame career that also saw him win the 2007 Preakness Stakes and 2007 Breeders’ Cup Classic. He has since gone on to produce countless champions as one of the most important sires in North American breeding.

A pair of well remembered competitors used wins in the 2009 and 2013 Dubai World Cup to prove their potential after difficult starts to their careers. Well Armed scored his most important victory in the 2009 Dubai World Cup after an injury plagued career which saw him miss his entire three-year-old season due to a fractured pelvis. The homegrown Winstar Farm product owns the record for margin of victory in the  Dubai World Cup as he crushed his rivals by 14 lengths. The 2011 Kentucky Derby winner Animal Kingdom also rallied through injuries during his younger seasons to finally claim the 2013 Dubai World Cup after missing the race a year earlier.

California Chrome is perhaps the most well known winner of this race, having taken the 2016 Dubai World Cup two years after igniting the sport of racing with wins in the 2014 Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes. This victory would catapult California Chrome in to a resurgent season as an older champion. He would pass the torch in the 2016 Breeders’ Cup Classic to Arrogate, who went on to win the 2017 Dubai World Cup as well.