John Battaglia Memorial Stakes

Road to the Kentucky Derby > John Battaglia Memorial Stakes

John Battaglia Memorial Stakes Race Facts

  • Location: Turfway Park, Florence, KY
  • Inaugural Race: 1982
  • Distance: 1 116 miles (​8 12 furlongs)
  • Track Type: Left-handed, PolyTrack
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds
  • 2021 Purse: $100,000
  • 2022 Race Date: Friday, March 4th

2021 John Battaglia Memorial Stakes Race Results

8Hush of a StormSantiago Gonzalez / William E. Morey$15.40 / $6.00 / $4.00
4Like the KingRafael Bejarano / Wesley A. Ward$6.00 / $3.20
1Gretzky the GreatGerardo Corrales / Mark E. Casse$2.80
7Hard Rye GuyChris Landeros / Ian R. Wilkes
11CatmanEmmanuel Esquivel / Michael J. Maker
3Twirling MambaAlbin Jimenez / John Alexander Ortiz
9Fort MoultrieDeshawn L. Parker / J. Reeve McGaughey
6Pico d'OroJohn McKee / William E. Morey
10Notable ExceptionDeclan Cannon / Jack Sisterson
2The PredicamentRafael Manuel Hernandez / Timothy E. Hamm
13BakwenaRodney A. Prescott / Darrin Miller

Exotic Payoffs:

  • $2 Exacta (8-4) Paid: $85.00
  • $0.50 Trifecta (8-4-1) Paid: $60.25
  • $0.10 Superfecta (8-4-1-7) Paid: $77.72

Watch the 2021 John Battaglia Memorial Stakes

The History of the John Battaglia Memorial Stakes

The John Battaglia Memorial Stakes is a race for thoroughbred horses held in early March at Turfway Park. Inaugurated in 1982, the race is open to three-year-olds willing to race one and one-sixteenth miles on the polytrack. The race is an ungraded stakes with a current purse of $100,000. The race acts as a prep to the Jeff Ruby Steaks.

The race was named in honor of John Battaglia, the former general manager of Turfway Park when it was known as the Latonia Race Track. His son, Mike Battaglia, is also involved in racing and served as the track announcer at both Turfway and Churchill Downs for many years. Mike has also served as a race analyst as part of the NBC Sports broadcast team, working Triple Crown races, the Breeders’ Cup Championship, and other races broadcasted on NBC starting in 1993.