Los Alamitos Futurity Stakes

Road to the Kentucky Derby > Los Alamitos Futurity

Los Alamitos Futurity Stakes

Los Alamitos Futurity Stakes Race Facts

  • Location: Los Alamitos – Los Alamitos, CA
  • Inaugural Race: 1981 (at Hollywood Park)
  • Distance: 1 1/16 miles (8.5 furlongs)
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Two-year-olds
  • 2022 Purse: $200,000
  • 2022 Race Date: Saturday, December 17th

The Los Alamitos Futurity is the sole Road to the Kentucky Derby prep-race for Los Alamitos racetrack. The 10-4-3-2-1 point allotment will help contenders at the California track to grow hopes of a start on the First Saturday in May during the December contest.

2022 Los Alamitos Futurity Results

4Practical MoveRamon A. Vazquez / Tim Yakteen$23.20 / $11.80
2Carmel RoadJuan J. Hernandez / Bob Baffert$9.00
3Fort BraggFlavien Prat / Bob Baffert
1Tall BoyUmberto Rispoli / Leandro Mora
5Arabian LionJohn R. Velazquez / Bob Baffert

Exotic Payouts:

  • $1 Exacta (4-2) Paid: $61.40
  • $1 Trifecta (4-2-3) Paid: $208.40

Watch the 2022 Los Alamitos Futurity

The History of the Los Alamitos Futurity

The Los Alamitos Futurity is a 1 1/16 mile Grade II race (8.5 furlongs) for 2-year-olds run annually in December. Beginning in 2014 it has been run at Los Alamitos Race Course in California following the closure of Hollywood Park. The race originated in 1981 and the current purse is $200,000.

The Los Alamitos Futurity is part of the ‘Road to the Kentucky Derby’, and the race awards Derby qualifying points to the top-5 finishers (10-4-3-2-1).

Six Futurity starters have gone on to win the Kentucky Derby: Gato Del Sol (1982), Ferdinand (1986), Alysheba (1987), Thunder Gulch (1995), Real Quiet (1998), and Giacomo (2005). Preakness winners include Snow Chief (1986), Real Quiet (1998) and Lookin at Lucky (2010), and Belmont Stakes winner A.P. Indy (1992). Point Given (2001) won the Preakness and Belmont after winning the Futurity as well.

The fastest time in the 1 1/16 mile Futurity is 1:40.74 by Afternoon Deelites (1994) with Kent Desormeaux aboard. The year before in 1993, Laffit Pincay, Jr. rode Valiant Nature to victory in 1:40.78.

Trainer Bob Baffert has been an absolutely dominant fixture in the Futurity, winning the race a record 13 times including seven in a row from 2014 to 2020. Jockey’s Alex Solis and Laffit Pincay, Jr. won the race a record 4 times each.

It’s a race that can also decide the Eclipse Award for Champion 2-Year-Old Male. The eight Eclipse Award winners since 1984 that didn’t take out the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile included three winners of this race: Declan’s Moon (2004), Lookin At Lucky (2009), and Shared Belief (2013). Other notable winners of the race include Best Pal, Captain Steve, Brother Derek, and Pioneerof The Nile.

All-Time Results for Los Alamitos Futurity

YearWinnerJockey / TrainerTime
2022Practical MoveRamon A. Vazquez / Tim Yakteen1:41.6
2021Slow Down AndyMario Gutierrez / Doug F. O'Neill01:42.3
2020SpielbergFlavien Prat / Bob Baffert01:43.6
2019Thousand WordsFlavien Prat / Bob Baffert01:43.2
2018ImprobableDrayden Van Dyke / Bob Baffert01:41.2
2017McKinzieMike E. Smith / Bob Baffert01:42.6
2016MasteryMike E. Smith / Bob Baffert01:41.6
2015Mor SpiritGary Stevens / Bob Baffert01:43.5
2014DortmundMartin Garcia / Bob Baffert01:40.9
2013Shared BeliefCorey Nakatani / Jerry Hollendorfer01:42.2
2012ViolenceJavier Castellano / Todd Pletcher01:43.5
2011LiaisonRafael Bejarano / Bob Baffert01:42.9
2010Comma to the TopCorey Nakatani / Peter Miller01:44.7
2009Lookin at LuckyGarrett Gomez / Bob Baffert01:43.3
2008Pioneerof the NileGarrett Gomez / Bob Baffert01:42.0
2007Into MischiefVictor Espinoza / Richard Mandella01:40.8
2006StormelloKent Desormeaux / William L. Currin01:42.2
2005Brother DerekAlex Solis / Dan Hendricks01:42.0
2004Declan's MoonVictor Espinoza / Ronald W. Ellis01:41.6
2003Lion HeartMike E. Smith / Patrick Biancone01:42.8
2002ToccetJorge Chavez / John F. Scanlan01:41.3
2001SiphonicJerry D. Bailey / David Hofmans01:42.1
2000Point GivenGary Stevens / Bob Baffert01:42.2
1999Captain SteveRobby Albarado / Bob Baffert01:43.3
1998Tactical CatLaffit Pincay Jr. / D. Wayne Lukas01:42.6
1997Real QuietKent Desormeaux / Bob Baffert01:41.3
1996Swiss YodelerAlex Solis / Mike Harrington01:42.7
1995Matty GAlex Solis / Ron McAnally01:41.7
1994Afternoon DeelitesKent Desormeaux / Richard Mandella01:40.7
1993Valiant NatureLaffit Pincay Jr. / Ron McAnally01:40.8
1992River SpecialLaffit Pincay Jr. / Robert B. Hess Jr.01:43.3
1991A.P. IndyEd Delahoussaye / Neil D. Drysdale01:42.9
1990Best PalJose A. Santos / Gary F. Jones01:35.4
1989Grand CanyonAngel Cordero Jr. / D. Wayne Lukas01:33.0
1988King GloriousChris McCarron / Jerry Hollendorfer01:35.6
1987TejanoLaffit Pincay Jr. / D. Wayne Lukas01:34.6
1986Temperate SilBill Shoemaker / Charles Whittingham01:36.1
1985Snow ChiefAlex Solis / Melvin F. Stute01:34.2
1984Stephans OdysseyEddie Maple / Woody Stephens01:43.4
1983Fali TimeSandy Hawley / Gary F. Jones01:41.6
1982Roving BoyEd Delahoussaye / Joseph Manzi01:41.8
1981StalwartChris McCarron / D. Wayne Lukas01:47.8