Smarty Jones Stakes

Road to the Kentucky Derby > Smarty Jones Stakes

Smarty Jones Stakes

Smarty Jones Stakes Race Facts

  • Location: Oaklawn Park Racetrack, Hot Springs, AR
  • Inaugural Race: 2008
  • Distance: One mile
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds
  • 2023 Purse: $250,000
  • 2023 Race Date: Sunday, January 1st

The Smarty Jones Stakes was inaugurated in 2008 in order to honor one of the best horses of recent memory. It is a one mile race at Oaklawn Park and serves as a precursor to both the Louisiana and Arkansas Derbies, as well as a stage on the Road to the Kentucky Derby. It currently offers a purse of $250,000.

2023 Smarty Jones Stakes Race Results

8Victory FormationFlavien Prat / Brad H. Cox$3.20 / $2.80 / $2.20
7Angel of EmpireJoseph Talamo / Brad H. Cox$8.60 / $4.00
6DeningtonFrancisco Arrieta / Kenneth G. McPeek$3.60
4Western GhentCristian A. Torres / D. Wayne Lukas
2How Did He Do ThatIsaac Castillo / Steven M. Asmussen
5Ten Days LaterDavid Cabrera / Kenneth G. McPeek
3Communication MemoRicardo Santana, Jr. / Steven M. Asmussen
1C. J's StormNik Juarez / John Haran

Exotic Payoffs:

  • $1 Exacta (8-7) Paid: $15.40
  • $0.50 Trifecta (8-7-6) Paid: $35.70
  • $0.10 Superfecta (8-7-6-4) Paid: $102.16

Watch the 2023 Smarty Jones Stakes

History of the Smarty Jones Stakes at Oaklawn Park

The namesake of this race is one of the most beloved of this generation. During an electric season in 2004, Smarty Jones won the Count Fleet, Southwest, Rebel and Arkansas Derby on a warpath that eventually saw him secure the Kentucky Derby as a 3/1 favorite, and then the Preakness Stakes. He would fall second to Birdstone in the Belmont as his Triple Crown dream was shattered. It was his only loss during a brilliant, nine-race career where he went 8-1-0 and was recognized as the 2004 U.S. Champion 3 Year Old.

Uncontested set the speed record for this challenge while claiming victory in the 2017 renewal. His time of 1:36.32 was the first and only to break the 1:37.00 barrier. Unfortunately, this was the only win of Uncontested’s career.

To date, the Smarty Jones Stakes has yet to produce a winner in any of the three American Classics. Will Take Charge is perhaps the most successful competitor to have won the Smarty Jones, winning in 2013 before placing 8th, 7th and 10th in the Triple Crown.

Caleb’s Posse scored in the 2011 Smarty Jones Stakes and skipped the Triple Crown, but capped off that season by winning the 2011 Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile over Shackleford and Tres Borrachos.

Far Right won the 2015 Smarty Jones and then went on to claim the Southwest Stakes, before losing the Arkansas Derby to American Pharoah. The two would meet again in the Kentucky Derby, but American Pharoah would win out as a favorite as Far Right fell all the way back to fifteenth.

All Time Results for The Smarty Jones Stakes

YearWinnerJockey / TrainerTime
2023Victory FormationFlavien Prat / Brad H. Cox1:38.1
2022Dash AttackDavid Cohen / Kenneth G. McPeek01:39.4
2021Caddo RiverFlorent Geroux / Brad H. Cox01:38.2
2020Gold StreetMartin Garcia / Steve Asmussen01:39.6
2019Gray AttemptShaun Bridgmohan / William H. Fires01:36.9
2018MourinhoDrayden Van Dyke / Bob Baffert01:37.3
2017UncontestedChanning Hill / Wayne M. Catalano01:36.3
2016DiscreetnessJon Court / William H. Fires01:38.1
2015Far RightMike E. Smith / Ron Moquett01:38.4
2014Tanzanite CatNorberto Arroyo Jr. / Cody Autrey01:38.7
2013Will Take ChargeJon Court / D. Wayne Lukas01:38.6
2012JunebugredJoe Bravo / Steve Hobby01:38.5
2011Caleb's PosseEusebio Razo Jr. / Donnie K. Von Hemel01:43.1
2010DryflyCalvin Borel / Lynn S. Whiting01:41.7
2009Flat OutJulio A. Garcia / Charles L. Dickey01:39.2
2008Liberty BullEusebio Razo Jr. / Thomas M. Amoss01:38.2