UAE Derby

Road to the Kentucky Derby > UAE Derby

UAE Derby Race Facts

  • Location: Meydan Racecourse, Dubai
  • Inaugural Race: 2000
  • Current Distance: 9.5 Furlongs
  • Track Type: Left-Handed Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: 3-year-olds from the Northern & 4-year-olds from the Southern Hemisphere
  • Status: Grade 2
  • 2021 Purse: $750,000
  • 2021 Race Date: Saturday, March 27th

At $750,000, the UAE Derby is no longer the richest race in the Road to the Kentucky Derby series. However it remains one of the most important in terms of qualifying as well, with the first four getting points on a 100-40-20-10 basis. That means the winner will certainly earn a start in the Derby, and it’s likely the second-place horse will earn enough points as well.

2021 UAE Derby Results

11Rebel's RomanceWilliam T. Buick / Charlie Appleby
6PanadolMickael Barzalona / Salem bin Ghadayer
13New TreasureFrankie Dettori / John Gosden
7Takeru PegasusRyan Moore / Yukihiro Kato
3MouheebRyan Curatolo /
Nicholas Bachalard
10France Go De InaJoel Rosario / Hideyuki Mori
1Speight'spercometePat Dobbs / Doug Watson
2El PatriotaVagner Leal / Antonio Cintra Pereira
4MnasekSam Hitchcott / Doug Watson
14Pink KamehamehaKeita Tosaki / Hideyuki Mori
8AmbivalentLuis Saez / Doug F. O'Neill
5LugamoOisin Murphy / Antonio Sano
12Fire GroupAntonio Fresu / Musabbeh Al Mheiri
9Soft WhisperPatrick J. Cosgrave / Saeed bin Suroor

Watch the 2021 UAE Derby

UAE Derby Race History

The UAE (United Arab Emirates) Derby is held each year in March as part of the Dubai World Cup Night. It is held at the Meydan Racecourse in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. It is a group two flat (level racecourse) horse race held on a dirt surface, left-handed track at a distance of 1 3/16 miles (or 9.5 furlongs). It has also run at distances of nine and ten furlongs. Three-year-olds from both the Northern and Southern Hemisphere are free to compete in the UAE Derby.

There is one proviso: the race is open to southern hemisphere-bred 3-year-olds, who are about six months older than their northern hemisphere counterparts and thus not eligible for the Kentucky Derby. So if they finish in points-earning positions ahead of their northern hemisphere-bred opponents, the points won’t count towards the First Saturday in May.

The inaugural UAE Derby winner China Visit finished sixth in the 2000 Kentucky Derby, but no subsequent winner of the UAE Derby has finished any closer at Churchill Downs. However, horses like Discreet Cat, Toast of New York, and Mubtaahij distinguished themselves in the U.S later in their careers, and Lani subsequently finished third in the Belmont Stakes.

The best performance by a UAE Derby runner came from 2011 runner-up Master of Hounds, who finished fifth in 2011. Two of the UAE Derby winners that started at Churchill Downs – Daddy Long Legs and Thunder Snow – failed to finish, with the latter refusing to join the race in 2017. The race has been dominated by Godolphin’s Saeed bin Suroor, who has won the race eight times, and by South African trainer Mike de Kock, who has won it six times. Ireland’s Aidan O’Brien has won it twice, while other victories have gone to Britain’s Jamie Osborne (Toast of New York) and Japan’s Mikio Matsunaga (Lani).

The largest field size for an UAE Derby race is 16 (2000) and the smallest field size is 9 (2004).

UAE Derby Records

The biggest margin of victory at the UAE Derby is 12 lengths, which was set by Blues and Royals in 2005.

The record for fastest time at the UAE Derby is 1:47.04, set by Express Tour in 2001 at the shorter 9-furlong distance. The fastest recorded time at its current 10-furlong distance is 1:57.44, set by Musir in 2010.

The record for most UAE Derby wins by a jockey is three, held by Christophe Soumillon (2010, 2015, 2017). The record for most wins by a trainer and most wins by an owner is eight, set by Saeed bin Suroor and Godolphin Racing, respectively (2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2011, 2017). The 2017 UAE Derby, won by Thunder Snow, was the first and only time Soumillon, bin Suroor, and Godolphin Racing won the race as a tripod.

UAE Derby Winners

With the UAE Derby existing only since 2010, the list of notable winners is quite short. A couple of noteworthy UAE Derby winners includes Discreet Cat (2006 Jerome Breeders’ Cup Handicap winner and 1996 Co-World Champion Three-Year-Old), and Thunder Snow (2016 Top-Rated British Two-Year-Old).

YearWinnerJockey / TrainerTime
2021Rebel's RomanceWilliam T. Buick / Charlie Appleby1:56.28
2020Race Cancelled
2019Plus Que ParfaitJosé Ortiz / Brendan Walsh01:58.4
2018MendelssohnRyan Moore / Aidan O'Brien01:55.2
2017Thunder SnowChristophe Soumillon / Saeed bin Suroor01:57.8
2016LaniYutaka Take / Mikio Matsunaga01:58.4
2015MubtaahijChristophe Soumillon / Mike de Kock01:58.4
2014Toast of New YorkJamie Spencer / Jamie Osborne01:57.9
2013Lines of BattleRyan Moore / Aidan O'Brien02:02.0
2012Daddy Long LegsColm O'Donoghue / Aidan O'Brien01:58.4
2011KhawlahMickael Barzalona / Saeed bin Suroor01:58.8
2010MusirChristophe Soumillon / Mike de Kock01:57.4
2009Regal RansomAlan Garcia / Saeed bin Suroor01:50.0
2008Honour DevilJohnny Murtagh / Mike de Kock01:48.6
2007Asiatic BoyWeichong Marwing / Mike de Kock01:48.8
2006Discreet CatFrankie Dettori / Saeed bin Suroor01:48.6
2005Blues and RoyalsKerrin McEvoy / Saeed bin Suroor01:50.0
2004Lundy's LiabilityWeichong Marwing / Mike de Kock01:50.8
2003Victory MoonWayne Smith / Mike de Kock02:02.5
2002Essence of DubaiFrankie Dettori / Saeed bin Suroor02:02.9
2001Express TourDavid R. Flores / Saeed bin Suroor01:47.0
2000China VisitRichard Hills / Saeed bin Suroor01:49.5