Louisiana Derby | Contenders | Race Profile

Race Events > Louisiana Derby > Contenders

| Betting | Odds | Prep-Races | Contenders | Handicapping | Results | History | Tickets |

Louisiana Derby Contenders

Horses with designs on the Louisiana Derby tend to contest at least one of the local preps, the Lecomte and the Risen Star. Nine of the last 14 Louisiana Derby winners were alumni of one, or both, races.

That doesn't imply that they were all based at Fair Grounds, however. The Louisiana Derby tends to attract high-profile shippers from other circuits, so some contenders may launch an advance raid to get a race over the track. Since 2000, this strategy worked with Repent (2002), Circular Quay (2007) and Pants on Fire (2011).

Locally based contenders obviously take the well-worn path through the series. Friesan Fire (2009) swept the Lecomte, Risen Star and Louisiana Derby, while Pyro (2008) turned the Risen Star/Louisiana Derby double. Mighty (2000), Fifty Stars (2001) and Vicar's in Trouble (2014) lost their preps before striking in the big one. The 109-1 shocker Hero of Order (2012), off the board in the Lecomte and Risen Star, tuned up with a second in the Black Gold on turf.

While the recent trend is in favor of horses with previous Fair Grounds experience, shippers with strong credentials must not discounted. The late Hall of Famer Bobby Frankel sent out Peace Rules (2003) and High Limit (2005) to capture their seasonal reappearance here. Wimbledon (2004) stepped up off a Santa Anita maiden win for Bob Baffert. Todd Pletcher has trained the last two winners who were making their New Orleans debuts -- Mission Impazible (2010), last seen in Oaklawn's Southwest, and Revolutionary (2013), who was exiting a score in the Withers at Aqueduct.

2019 Louisiana Derby Entries

PP Horse  Jockey Wgt Trainer M/L
1 Roiland (KY)  J Graham 122 T M Amoss 12-1
2 Lemniscate (FL)  B J Hernandez, Jr. 122 K G McPeek 15-1
3 Limonite (KY)  J L Ortiz 122 S M Asmussen 20-1
4 Sueno (KY)  C J Lanerie 122 J K Desormeaux 8-1
5 By My Standards (KY)  G Saez 122 W B Calhoun 12-1
6 War of Will (KY)  T Gaffalione 122 M E Casse 6-5
7 Mr. Money (KY)  A Beschizza 122 W B Calhoun 20-1
8 Country House (KY)  L Saez 122 W I Mott 9-2
9 Bankit (NY)  I Ortiz, Jr. 122 S M Asmussen 20-1
10 Spinoff (KY)  J R Velazquez 122 T A Pletcher 8-1
11 Hog Creek Hustle (KY)  M Mena 122 V L Foley 12-1