Bet the 2024 Preakness Stakes Online

Preakness Weekend commences in earnest Friday with a total of six competitive stakes races at Pimlico, anchored by the $300,000 Black-Eyed Susan (G2) and $250,000 Pimlico Special (G3).

Bet Now!

The Black-Eyed Susan Stakes

The Black-Eyed Susan Stakes

Inaugural Race: 1919

Current Distance: 1 & 1/8 miles (9 furlongs)

Track Type: Left-Handed Dirt

Age Qualification: Three-year-old fillies

Purse: $300,000

Race Date: Friday, May 17th

Expert Picks

Expert Picks

Today's Races

All Races


Race Type

A Brief History of the Black-Eyed Susan Stakes

The Black-Eyed Susan Stakes race is hosted annually at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland. The race dates back to 1919 and was given graded stakes status in 1973.

Today, the Grade 2, three-year-old filly race covers a distance of 1 & 1/8th miles, with a purse of $500,000. Milkmaid was the first winner in 1973 and went on to earn United States Champion 3-Yr-Old Filly Honors. In fact, twenty three fillies that won the Black-Eyed Susan went on to be named a Champion.

The Black-Eyed Susan Stakes is a counterpart to the Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing alongside the Kentucky Oaks and the Acorn Stakes. These races are often unofficially referred to as the "Filly Triple Crown". Officially, the "Filly Triple Crown" is known as the Triple Tiara of Thoroughbred Racing and consists of  three races held at Belmont Park and Saratoga Race Course in New York. Recently, there has been talk among officials to change the Triple Tiara Series to include the Black-Eyed Susan, the Kentucky Oaks and the Mother Goose Stakes.

Davona Dale is the only filly to win the Black-Eyed Susan Stakes, Kentucky Oaks, Acorn Stakes, Mother Goose Stakes, and Coaching Club American Oaks. The only Black-Eyed Susan winner to also win the Preakness Stakes is Nillie Morse.

Other notable entries into the race include Royal Delta, Serena’s Song, Office Queen, Airman’s Guide, and Real Delight.

Black-Eyed Susan Stakes - Race Records


Trophy icon

Speed Record

1:47.83 - Silverbulletday - 1999

Trophy icon

Most Wins by a Jockey

4 - Chris McCarron (1976, 1985, 1986, 1992) & John Velazquez (1998, 2003, 2005, 2012)

Trophy icon

Most Wins by a Trainer

4 - D. Wayne Lukas (1984, 1986, 1989, 1995)

Historical Results for the Black-Eyed Susan Stakes with Past Black-Eyed Susan winners.

In the table below, view a records of the winning trainers, thoroughbreds, jockeys, and times for every Kentucky Oaks race.

Javier Castellano
Todd Pletcher
Joel Rosario
Bob Baffert
In Lingerie
John Velazquez
Todd Pletcher
Royal Delta
Jose Lezcano
William I. Mott
Acting Happy
Jose Lezcano
Richard Dutrow
Payton d'Oro
Terry Thompson
J. Larry Jones
Sweet Vendetta
Channing Hill
Gary C. Contessa
Panty Raid
Edgar Prado
Todd Pletcher
Regal Engagement*
Ramon Dominguez
Thomas M. Bush
Spun Sugar
John Velazquez
Todd A. Pletcher


TwinSpires Horse Racing is a leading destination for legal wagering in the United States. TwinSpires' parent company, Churchill Downs — the home of the Kentucky Derby — has a 148-year history and has been a leader in betting since 1875.

The premier online betting experience of TwinSpires caters to several exciting industries, offering advance-deposit wagering for horse racing, live track video signals and more. It also offers mobile apps and easy-to-use desktop experiences that are always being improved.

TwinSpires strives to support racing fans of all levels; longtime racing fans, sharps, newcomers, and veterans alike. TwinSpires also benefits bettors with data-driven insights and rich offerings of educational content, handicapping, picks, analysis editorial, and strategies through all platforms.

Discover our offerings in global horse racing from the North America, South America, Europe, Asia and Australia! Whether you are seeking free picks and offers for today's horse racing, expert insight, or the variety of strategies involved with handicapping, we have you covered. Check out race tracks near you, now!