Race Events > Preakness Stakes

2023 Preakness logo

Bet on the 2023 Preakness Stakes at TwinSpires

With a shorter distance than both the Kentucky Derby (1 ¼ miles) and the Belmont Stakes (traditionally 1 ½ miles), The Preakness makes for a fast-paced and highly entertaining 2nd leg of the Triple Crown of horse racing.

Betting | Odds | Handicapping & Picks | Contenders | Winners | History | Results | Tickets | Prep Races

Register today & bet on the Preakness Stakes online!

TwinSpires is the Official Kentucky Derby Betting Partner.

Preakness Betting Guide & Tip Sheet

Enhance your Preakness picks and plays. Download the TwinSpires Preakness betting guide along with a Tip Sheet with suggestions on how to play the Preakness Meet races.

iPhone, Android, or Laptop

Bet anywhere. TwinSpires gives you an instant wagering advantage. Our advanced betting and handicapping tools with real-time technology give you the ability to adjust your bets as race information changes, right up to post time.

Security, Integrity, Tradition

TwinSpires, part of publicly-traded Churchill Downs (NASDAQ: CHDN), is the official online wagering home of the Kentucky Derby. TwinSpires delivers the ultimate horseracing experience, with the latest in technology for wagering that’s safe and secure.

Preakness 148 Race Info

  • Pimlico Race Course
  • Inaugural Race: 1873
  • Distance: 1 & 3/16 miles (9.5 furlongs)
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds
  • 2023 Purse: $1.5 million
  • 2023 Race Date: Saturday, May 20th
  • Where to Watch: NBC Sports

2023 Preakness Meet Schedule

Black-Eyed Susan Day – Friday, May 19th

The Allaire Dupont Distaff Stakes (G3)$150,000Three Year Olds and UpwardOne Mile And One Eighth (Dirt)
The Black-Eyed Susan Stakes (G2)$250,000Three Year OldsOne Mile And One Eighth (Dirt)
The Pimlico Special (G3)$300,000Three Year Olds and UpwardOne Mile And Three Sixteenths (Dirt)
The Miss Preakness Stakes (G3)$150,000Three Year OldsSix Furlongs (Dirt)
The Hilltop Stakes$100,000Three Year OldsOne Mile (Turf)
The Very One Stakes (Listed)$100,000Three Year Olds and UpwardFive Furlongs (Turf)

Preakness Stakes Day – Saturday, May 20th

The Maryland Sprint Stakes (G3)$150,000 Three Year Olds and UpwardSix Furlongs (Dirt)
The Skipat Stakes$100,000 Three Year Olds and UpwardSix Furlongs (Dirt)
The James W. Murphy Stakes (Listed)$100,000 Three Year OldsOne Mile (Turf)
The Dinner Party Stakes (G2)$250,000 Three Year Olds and UpwardOne Mile And One Sixteenth (Turf)
The Gallorette Stakes (G3)$150,000 Three Year Olds and UpwardOne Mile And One Sixteenth (Turf)
The Jim McKay Turf Sprint (Listed)$100,000 Three Year Olds and UpwardFive Furlongs (Turf)
UAE President Cup, Arabian (G1)$100,000 Four Year Olds and UpwardOne And One Sixteenth Miles (Dirt)
The Sir Barton Stakes$100,000 Three Year OldsOne And One Sixteenth Miles (Dirt)
The Chick Lang Stakes (G3)$200,000 Three Year OldsSix Furlongs (Dirt)
The Preakness Stakes (G1)$1,500,000 Three Year OldsOne Mile And Three Sixteenths (Dirt)

2023 Preakness Stakes Position Draw & Morning Line Odds

1National TresureJohn R. Velazquez / Bob Baffert4-1
2Chase The ChaosSheldon Russell / Ed Mogar Jr.50-1
3MageJavier Castellano / Gustavo Delgado8-5
4CoffeewithchrisJoel Rosario / Steven M. Asmussen20-1
5Red Route OneJoel Rosario / Steven M. Asmussen10-1
6PerformFeargal Lynch / Shug McGaughey15-1
7Blazing SevensIrad Ortiz Jr. / Chad C. Brown6-1
8First MissionLuis Saez / Brad H. CoxSCRATCHED

2023 Preakness Stakes Race Results

1National TreasureJohn R. Velazquez / Bob Baffert$7.80 / $4.00 / $2.60
7Blazing SevensIrad Ortiz, Jr. / Chad C. Brown$5.00 / $2.80
3MageJavier Castellano / Gustavo Delgado$2.40
5Red Route OneJoel Rosario / Steven M. Asmussen
2Chase the ChaosSheldon Russell / Ed Moger, Jr.
6PerformFeargal Lynch / Claude R. McGaughey III
4CoffeewithchrisJaime Rodriguez / John E. Salzman, Jr.

Exotic Payouts:

  • $1 Exacta (1-7): $15.90
  • $1 Trifecta (1-7-3): $24.20
  • $1 Superfecta (1-7-3-5): $72.40

Watch the 2023 Preakness Stakes

Watch the Bob Baffert–trained National Treasure win the 148th running of the Preakness Stakes, giving Hall of Fame jockey John R. Velazquez his Preakness victory!

Preakness Stakes History

Though first run in 1873, the Preakness Stakes was forced to weather an unfavorable political climate for horse racing in Maryland and the abandonment of the sport at Pimlico through its first several decades. While that led to inconsistencies in its recorded history, the second jewel in the Triple Crown has been contested at “Old Hilltop” uninterrupted since 1909 and at its present distance of 1 3/16 miles since 1925.

The Preakness came into its own soon after the conclusion of World War I. Four days after breaking his maiden in the 1919 Kentucky DerbySir Barton romped to another victory in the Preakness, and later added the Belmont Stakes to become America’s first Triple Crown winner.

The following year, the legendary Man o’ War made his three-year-old debut in the Preakness, beating old nemesis Upset by 1 1/2 lengths. “Big Red” would end his career with 20 wins from 21 starts and is still considered by some the best Thoroughbred ever produced in this country.

The 1924 Preakness was won by Nellie Morse, a feat not replicated again by another filly until Rachel Alexandra turned in a stirring display 85 years later when she held off a late challenge from Kentucky Derby winner Mine That Bird in 2009.

The trend of Derby winners backing up those victories in the Preakness developed in earnest in the 1930s when five pulled off the double, including the Triple Crown winners Gallant Fox, Omaha, and War Admiral. The Preakness has also long had a reputation of being the race where horses rectify their Derby disappointments, among them Hall of Fame members Challedon, Alsab, Hill Prince, Native Dancer, Nashua, Bold Ruler, and Damascus.

With his eighth win in 2023, Bob Baffert became the all-time winningest trainer of the Preakness Stakes. He finally surpassed the legendary Wyndham Walden, who notched a still-unmatched five consecutive victories at the Preakness between 1878 and 1882.

As is the case with the Kentucky Derby, Calumet Farm is the all-time leading owner of Preakness winners with seven. Jockey Eddie Arcaro, co-holder of the Kentucky Derby title, stands alone among Preakness-winning riders with a total of six victories.

Like its predecessor held in Louisville, the Preakness is steeped in its own traditions. Held annually on the third Saturday in May, the Preakness has its starters parade to the singing of “Maryland, My Maryland,” the state anthem, with the winner adorned in a blanket of Black-Eyed Susans, the state flower. A replica of the Woodlawn Vase, an 1860 creation of Tiffany and Company considered unduplicatable by modern silversmiths, is presented to the winning owner and their silk colors painted on Pimlico’s infield cupola weather vane.

Its popularity often understated, the Preakness generally attracts attendance, television ratings, and race handle betting figures second only to the Kentucky Derby. Well over 100,000 annually congregate at the Baltimore course, which has been the scene of many of the turf’s most notable stars since its founding in 1870.

Preakness Records

Fastest Time

1.53.00 – Secretariat (1973)

Most Wins by Jockey

6 – Eddie Arcaro (1941, 1948, 1950, 1951, 1955, 1957)

Most Wins by a Trainer

8 – Bob Baffert

Most Wins by Owner

7 – Calumet Farm (1941, 1944, 1947, 1948, 1956, 1958, 1968, 2013)

Largest Margin of Victory

11 ½ – Smarty Jones (2004)