Preakness Stakes | Portal

Bet The Preakness Stakes Online | Bet Online with
Limited Time Offer

Get $10 Free to Wager on the Preakness Stakes at TwinSpires

Experience the excitement of the 2019 Preakness Stakes at Pimlico Race Course to be held on Saturday, May 16 by wagering online with TwinSpires! Signing up is easy, and we’ll credit your new account with $10 to bet with.

Register today and start betting online!

TwinSpires is the Official Kentucky Derby and Breeders’ Cup Betting Partner.

$100 Sign Up Bonus

No deposit required. $100 sign up bonus. Just wager $500 within 30 days of registering and we’ll deposit $100 into your account. Members can wager free at 300+ thoroughbred, harness and quarter horse tracks worldwide, with exclusive access to major horse racing events including the 2018 Preakness Stakes.

iPhone, Android, or Laptop

Bet Anywhere. TwinSpires gives you an instant wagering advantage. Our advanced betting and handicapping tools with real-time technology give you the ability to adjust your bets as race information changes, right up to post time.

Security, Integrity, Tradition

TwinSpires, part of publicly-traded Churchill Downs (NASDAQ: CHDN), is the official online wagering home of the Kentucky Derby. TwinSpires delivers the ultimate horseracing experience, with the latest in technology for wagering that’s safe and secure.

Black-Eyed Susan Day – Friday, May 17

Race NamePurseDistance/SurfaceRestrictions
Jim McKay Turf Sprint $100,000 5 Furlongs/Turf 3&UP
Skipat$100,0006 Furlongs/DirtF3YO
Allaire Dupont Distaff$150,0001 1/8 Miles/DirtF&M 3&UP
Miss Preakness – GIII$150,0006 Furlongs/DirtF3YO
Black-Eyed Susan$250,0001 1/8 Miles/DirtF3YO
Pimlico Special$300,0001 3/16 Miles/Dirt3&UP
Hilltop$100,0001 Mile/TurfF3YO

Preakness Stakes Day – Saturday, May 18

Race NamePurseDistance/SurfaceRestrictions
Preakness Stakes$1,500,0001 3/16 Miles/Dirt3YO
LARC Sir Barton Stakes$100,0001 1/16 Miles/Dirt3YO
Searching Stakes $100,000 12 Furlongs/Turf F&M 3&UP
Maryland Sprint Stakes$150,0006 Furlongs/Dirt3&UP
James W. Murphy Stakes$100,0001 Mile/Turf3YO
Dixie Stakes$250,0001 1/16 Miles/Turf3&UP
Gallorette Stakes$150,0001 1/16 Miles/TurfF&M 3&UP
Chick Lang Stakes$200,0006 Furlongs/Dirt3YO
The Very One Stakes$100,0005 Furlongs/TurfF&M 3&UP

Preakness Stakes History

Though first run in 1873, the Preakness Stakes was forced to weather an unfavorable political climate for horse racing in Maryland and the abandonment of the sport at Pimlico through its first several decades. While that led to inconsistencies in its recorded history, the second jewel in the Triple Crown has been contested at “Old Hilltop” uninterrupted since 1909 and at its present distance of 1 3/16 miles since 1925.

The Preakness came into its own soon after the conclusion of World War I. Four days after breaking his maiden in the 1919 Kentucky Derby, Sir Barton romped to another victory in the Preakness, and later added the Belmont Stakes to become America’s first Triple Crown winner.

The following year, the legendary Man o’ War made his three-year-old debut in the Preakness, beating old nemesis Upset by 1 1/2 lengths. “Big Red” would end his career with 20 wins from 21 starts and is still considered by some the best Thoroughbred ever produced in this country.

The 1924 Preakness was won by Nellie Morse, a feat not replicated again by another filly until Rachel Alexandra turned in a stirring display 85 years later when she held off a late challenge from Kentucky Derby winner Mine That Bird in 2009.

The trend of Derby winners backing up those victories in the Preakness developed in earnest in the 1930s when five pulled off the double, including the Triple Crown winners Gallant Fox, Omaha, and War Admiral. The Preakness has also long had a reputation of being the race where horses rectify their Derby disappointments, among them Hall of Fame members Challedon, Alsab, Hill Prince, Native Dancer, Nashua, Bold Ruler, and Damascus.

The 19th century trainer Wyndham Walden remains the all-time leader of his profession with seven Preakness wins, including five in succession (1878-82). However, modern greats D. Wayne Lukas and Bob Baffert have both compiled six each, with Baffert on the verge of potentially tying Walden’s record with Justify in 2018.

As is the case with the Kentucky Derby, Calumet Farm is the all-time leading owner of Preakness winners with eight. Jockey Eddie Arcaro, co-holder of the Kentucky Derby title, stands alone among Preakness-winning riders with a total of six victories.

Like its predecessor held in Louisville, the Preakness is steeped in its own traditions. Held annually on the third Saturday in May, the Preakness has its starters parade to the singing of “Maryland, My Maryland,” the state anthem, with the winner adorned in a blanket of Black-Eyed Susans, the state flower. A replica of the Woodlawn Vase, an 1860 creation of Tiffany and Company considered unduplicatable by modern silversmiths, is presented to the winning owner and their silk colors painted on Pimlico’s infield cupola weather vane.

Its popularity often understated, the Preakness generally attracts attendance, television ratings, and race handle betting figures second only to the Kentucky Derby. Well over 100,000 annually congregate at the Baltimore course, which has been the scene of many of the turf’s most notable stars since its founding in 1870.

Preakness Stakes

NBC Sports Network – 2:30pm-5pm EST
NBC – 5pm-7pm EST

Single-Race Exotic Bets

On an Exacta Bet you need to choose the horses that will finish first AND second in the correct order to claim your winnings!

Pick the first 2 finishers (they can come in either order) to win!

Pick the first 3 finishers to claim your winnings!

Pick the first 4 finishers to be a winner!

Pick the first 5 finishers and you’re a winner!

Multi-Race Exotic Bets

Pick the winners of 2 consecutive races and you can collect your winnings!

Pick the winners of 3 consecutive races and you win!

Pick the winners of 4 consecutive races and your winnings are waiting for you at the window!

Pick the winners of 5 consecutive races and claim your winnings!

Pick the winners of 6 consecutive races and claim your winnings!


TwinSpires is the premier destination for FREE and legal US horse race betting and proud to be the Official Partner of the Kentucky Derby and the Breeders Cup. Register for TwinSpires if you love the thrill of horse racing, and want to bring the experience of the track wherever you go.

THE Preakness Stakes

he Preakness Stakes is the second race within the Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing, where it is preceeded by the Kentucky Derby and followed by the Belmont Stakes race.