Join Today

$100 sign-up bonus

BET THE Preakness Stakes
AT TWINSPIRES

$100 Bonus

 
Enjoyed by millions of fans, this year's event is the 141st Preakness Stakes.
  • The Preakness is the second leg in American thoroughbred racing's Triple Crown series.
  • The 142nd running of the Preakness Stakes will take place on May 20, 2017
  • The attendance at the Preakness Stakes ranks second in North America for horse racing.
  • A replica of the famed Woodlawn Vase, which was created by Tiffany and Company in 1860, is given each year to the winning Preakness owner.
  • Secretariat holds the record for the fastest Preakness Stakes ever at 1:53.
  • The Preakness is Far More Exciting to Watch if You Place a Bet on the Race.
2017 Preakness Stakes

The Preakness serves as the middle leg of the American Triple Crown and represents Maryland's biggest day of Thoroughbred racing. The 1 3/16-mile contest for three-year-olds takes place at Pimlico on the third Saturday in May, two weeks after the Kentucky Derby, and 2017 will mark the 142nd edition of the highly-valued stakes race.

It's the shortest of the Triple Crown events, a sixteenth of a mile less than the 1 1/4-mile Kentucky Derby, and is followed by the 1 1/2-mile Belmont Stakes three weeks later.

The winning connections receive a replica of the Woodlawn Vase, which was created by Tiffany and Co. and first awarded in 1860. Valued in excess of $1 million, the silver Woodlawn Vase is recognized as the most valuable trophy in American sports.

The Preakness is dubbed "The People’s Race…The People's Party."

Where and When to watch the 2017 Preakness Stakes

If you can’t make it to Pimlico as Always Dreaming attempts to keep the Triple Crown alive, there are many ways to watch the Preakness Stakes carnival. The big race itself starts at 6:45 p.m. May 20 U.S. Eastern time.

TELEVISION

NBC and NBC Sports are once again providing TV coverage of the carnival, at the following times:

May 19, 3:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. ET:               Black Eyed Susan Stakes day           NBC Sports Network

May 20, 2:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. ET:               Preakness Stakes prep                        NBC Sports Network

May 20, 5:00 p.m. – 7:15 p.m. ET:               Preakness Stakes                                   NBC

 

LIVE STREAMING

A number of options are available for watching the race online.

NBC: The broadcaster’s coverage of the carnival isn’t limited to television. It can be viewed either on NBCsports.com, or from a viewer’s phone, tablet, or connected TV device via the NBC Sports app. These viewers will be able to watch the race through a mosaic view of four different camera angles at once.

TwinSpires.com: Just set up an account, and watch TwinSpires.com’s coverage online.

TwinSpires mobile site for Android devices: Go to TwinSpires.com in your internet browser and you’ll get a mobile friendly version of the website. You can watch the coverage from here.

TwinSpires iPhone app: Open your app, log on to your account, and the coverage is available on your phone.

On all these TwinSpires platforms, you can make bets while watching the races!

SIMULCASTS

If your local racetrack is holding a meet on Kentucky Derby or Kentucky Oaks day, you can go to those tracks to watch the Derby and get a feel of the atmosphere on horse racing’s biggest day of the year. Among the 39 thoroughbred tracks that are racing that day in North America are Churchill Downs, Belmont Park, Gulfstream Park, Parx Racing, Woodbine, Arlington, Santa Anita Park, and Golden Gate Park.

WHEN TO WATCH THE PREAKNESS STAKES AND BLACK-EYED SUSAN STAKES AROUND THE WORLD

  BLACK-EYED SUSAN PREAKNESS STAKES
     
U.S. Eastern Time May 19, 4:50 p.m. May 20, 6:48 p.m.
     
U.S. Central Time May 19, 3:50 p.m. May 20, 5:48 p.m.
     
U.S. Mountain Time May 19, 2:50 p.m. May 20, 4:48 p.m.
     
U.S. Pacific Time May 19, 1:50 p.m. May 20, 3:48 p.m.
     
Alaska Time May 19, 12:50 p.m. May 20, 2:48 p.m.
     
Hawaii Time May 19, 10:50 a.m. May 20, 12:48 p.m.
     
Argentina, Chile, E. Brazil May 19, 5:50 p.m. May 20, 7:48 p.m.
     
Greenwich Mean Time May 19, 8:50 p.m. May 20, 10:48 p.m.
     
U.K. & Ireland May 19, 9:50 p.m. May 20, 11:48 p.m.
     
Europe, South Africa May 19, 10:50 p.m. May 21, 12:48 a.m.
     
United Arab Emirates May 20, 12:50 a.m. May 21, 2:48 a.m.
     
Hong Kong, Singapore May 20, 4:50 a.m. May 21, 6:48 a.m.
     
Japan May 20, 5:50 a.m. May 21, 7:48 a.m.
     
Australia Western Time May 20, 4:50 a.m. May 21, 6:48 a.m.
     
Australia Central Time May 20, 6:20 a.m. May 21, 8:28 a.m.
     
Australia Eastern Time May 20, 6:50 a.m. May 21, 8:48 a.m.
     
New Zealand May 20, 8:50 a.m. May 21, 10:48 a.m.

 

Preakness Stakes Promotions
Check back soon for all of the Preakness Stakes related Promotions and ways to win! For now visit the TwinSpires Promotions section for the latest ways to add value to your horse racing experience.