The Prince of Wales’s Stakes | Royal Ascot | Race Profile

Race Events > Royal Ascot > The Prince of Wales’s Stakes

The 2018 Prince of Wales’s Stakes at Royal Ascot

Wednesday 20th June 2018

4:20pm3:20 PM11:20 AM10:20 AM9:20 AM8:20 AMThe Prince of Wales’s Stakes (Group 1)

About The Prince of Wales’s Stakes of Royal Ascot

The Prince of Wales’s Stakes was established in 1862 and named after the Prince of Wales at that time, the future King Edward VII. The race has been run with various restrictions and at various distances, originally longer at 1 mile and 5 furlongs. The race became Group 1 in 2000 and is currently held each June at Ascot Racecourse in England on Day 2 of the Royal Ascot meet. The Prince of Wales’s is open to 4-year-olds and up and is contested over the turf at a distance of 2004 meters (1 ¼ miles).

The Prince of Wales’s is the feature of the second day of Royal Ascot and the richest race of the meeting £750,000 ($945,000). The five day event is a magnificent International stage of racing drawing more than 300,000 visitors over five days, and the event is viewed in over 200 countries. The most recent 2017 edition drew special attention, as the winner Highland Real was the 2016 Breeders’ Cup Turf champion and a top-level competitor worldwide.

The centerpiece of Day 2 at Royal Ascot, the Prince of Wales’s has undergone plenty of changes in the past 20 years. Previously, the race was also open to 3-year-olds, which gave the race more intrigue with the highest class of middle distance 3-year-olds able to compete against their older contemporaries. This use to provide more insight ahead of the Eclipse Stakes at Sandown Park in early July. But what the race lost in terms of age comparisons it gained in class, as it’s now a Group 1 race.

The Prince of Wales’s Stakes used to form part of a terrific trilogy of races on the opening day, the Queen Anne Stakes, the Prince of Wales’s Stakes and then the St. James’s Palace Stakes. But it was felt that the Wednesday card would be bolstered by moving the race and it has taken place on Wednesday, day 2 of the Royal Ascot meet since 2000.

The Prince of Wales’s Stakes has over time forged its way to become a significant factor in defining the champion middle distance horse of the year, as its illustrious list of former winners testifies.

Winners of Prince of Wales’s Stakes since 2000 (age)

  • 2017 – Highland Reel (5)
  • 2016 – My Dream Boat (4)
  • 2015 – Free Eagle (4)
  • 2014 – The Fugue (5)
  • 2013 – Al Kazeem (5)
  • 2012 – So You Think (6)
  • 2011 – Rewilding (4)
  • 2010 – Byword (4)
  • 2009 – Vision d’Etat (4)
  • 2008 – Duke of Marmalade (4)
  • 2007 – Manduro (5)
  • 2006 – Quija Board (5)
  • 2005 – Azamour (4)
  • 2004 – Rakti (5)
  • 2003 – Nayef (5)
  • 2002 – Grandera (4)
  • 2001 – Fantastic Light (5)
  • 2000 – Dubai Millennium (4)