Santa Anita Derby Winners

Race Events > Santa Anita Derby > Winners

Betting | Handicapping | Results | Winners | History |

Dortmund boasted a perfect five-for-five mark entering the 2015 Santa Anita Derby, and the Bob Baffert trainee was favored to win at 3-5.

The chestnut colt did not disappoint.

Taking command from the start, Dortmund was pressured in the early going before putting his rivals away and drawing off for a 4 1/4-length victory. Regular jockey Martin Garcia piloted the sophomore colt, who posted a final time of 1:48.73 for 1 1/8 miles over the fast main track at Santa Anita Park.

The Santa Anita Derby was the main event during the track’s spring meet, and awarded points on a 100-40-20-10 scale to the top four toward a starting berth in the Kentucky Derby. One Lucky Dane finished second and was followed by Bolo and Prospect Park.

However, Dortmund was the star that day and attempted to follow in the hoofprints of 2014 Santa Anita Derby winner California Chrome, who would go on to Kentucky Derby. Alas, American Phaorah handed his stablemate Dortmund a first loss while beginning a successful Triple Crown run that culminated in the first Grand Slam of Racing in the Breeders' Cup Classic in late October.

Dortmund finished third in the Kentucky Derby while Bolo, the only other Santa Anita Derby runner to attempt the 2015 Run for the Roses, wound up 12th under the Twin Spires at Churchill Downs on the first Saturday in May.