Bet Sha Tin Racecourse

Hong Kong’s Sha Tin Racecourse – Guide, Map, Racing

Sha Tin Racecourse is one of two horse racing tracks located in Hong Kong. The 85,000-capacity grandstand and facility were built in 1978 on reclaimed land. Sha Tin is the largest track in Hong Kong. Located in the New Territories region, Sha Tin is owned and operated by the Hong Kong Jockey Club, who also owns Happy Valley racecourse.

Racing in Hong Kong is an immensely profitable venture, with most purses eclipsing those of the Triple Crown series in the United States. The most prominent race hosted at Sha Tin is the Hong Kong Derby. The Hong Kong Derby was transferred to Sha Tin from Happy Valley in 1979. Other marquee features of the track include the Queen Elizabeth II Cup and the Champions Mile.

Sha Tin race track facts

  • Country: Hong Kong
  • People Capacity: 85,000 (originally 35,000)
  • Horse Capacity: 1,260 Horses (20 stables)
  • Built: 1978
  • Operator: Hong Kong Jockey Club
  • Turf Track:
    • Straight: 430 metres (470 yd)
    • Circumference: 1.899 kilometres (1.180 mi)
  • All-Weather Track (Dirt):
    • Straight: 380 metres (420 yd)
    • Circumference: 1.560 kilometres (0.969 mi)
  • Factoid: Built on reclaimed land
  • Factoid: Larger than Happy Valley


Just like in every major racing country around the world, Hong Kong has its own Triple Crown series. A key difference is that there are two different three-race series, all of which are run at Sha Tin. One set of races focuses on distance and the other three races encourage speed. Unlike the North American version, the Hong Kong Triple Crown series are open for three-year-old horses and older.

Races for the Triple Crown series are held from October through May. The longer races include the Stewards Cup, Gold Cup and the Champions & Chater Cup. Interestingly, all three races get increasingly longer as the first race to greet contenders is at 8 furlongs, the second leg is run at 1 1/5th miles and the final leg boasts a 1 ½ mile distance.

The spring series for the Triple Crown is made up of three races which include the Hong Kong Sprint, Queen’s Silver Jubilee Cup and the Chairman’s Sprint Prize. The Chairman’s Sprint Prize is also a part of the 10-race Global Sprint Challenge which no horse has won to this day.


December 11th, 2016

Longines Hong Kong International Series
Comprised of the Hong Kong Cup, Hong Kong Mile, Hong Kong Vase and Hong Kong Sprint.


Stewards’ Cup
8 Furlongs – 3+ Year Olds- $1.3 Million USD


Queen’s Silver Jubilee Cup
7 Furlongs – 3+ Year Olds – $1.3 Million USD

Hong Kong Gold Cup
10 Furlongs – 3+ Year Olds – $1.3 Million USD

Audemars Piguet Queen Elizabeth II Cup
11 Furlongs (2,200 Meters) – 3+ Year Old Fillies & Mares – $2.6 Million USD


Champions Mile
1 Mile – 3+ Year Old Horses – $1.8 Million USD

Chariman’s Sprint Prize
6 Furlongs (1,200 Meters) – 3+ Year Olds – $1.3 Million USD

Champions & Chater Cup
12 Furlongs – 3+ Year Olds – $1.3 Million USD


The all-weather track at Sha Tin has a straight of 380 meters and a circumference of 1,560 meters. The turf course has a homestretch of 380 meters and a circumference of 1,560 meters. Behind the main tracks, there are 20 stables which have a maximum capacity to hold 1,260 horses.

Patrons can access Sha Tin Racecourse through the Mass Transit Railway (MTR), which has a station that operates only on racing days.

Learn about Hong Kong’s Happy Valley Racecourse.