The Ribblesdale Stakes | Royal Ascot | Race Profile

Race Events > Royal Ascot > The Ribblesdale Stakes

The 2018 Ribblesdale Stakes at Royal Ascot

Thursday 21st June 2018
3:40pm 2:40 PM 10:40 AM 9:40 AM 8:40 AM 7:40 AM The Ribblesdale Stakes (Group 2)

About The Ribblesdale Stakes of Royal Ascot

The Ribblesdale Stakes is a Group 2 race for 3-year-old fillies held at Ascot Racecourse in June on day 3 of the five day Royal Ascot meet. Established in 1919, the Ribblesdale is contested on the turf at 2406 meters (1.5 miles) and the event is named in honor of the 4th Baron Ribblesdale, who served as Master of the Buckhounds in the 1890’s.

For the best part of 100 years, the best staying 3-year-old fillies on the circuit have travelled to Ascot to fight for this lucrative prize. From 1995 to 2010, jockey Frankie Detton won the Ribblesdale a record six times, and since 1990 just two fillies have broken the 2:30 time barrier in the 1.5 mile marathon with Sahara Slew (2001) coming in a winner in 2:29.57 and Riposte (2013) the winner in 2:29.41.

The Ribblesdale race can either be a quick opportunity for horses that ran in the 1.5 mile Epsom Oaks (Group 1) to bounce back, or more often as not though it is won by later developing horses that missed Epsom and have the Irish Oaks on their radar. In 2017, Coronet won the Ribbelsdale at 9-1 odds after a 5th place finish in the Group 1 Epson Oaks just three weeks earlier. Coronet went on to finish 4th in the Irish Oaks (Group 1) at Curragh three weeks later.

Some key trends to point you towards a winner in the Ribblesdale include:

  • 13 of last 15 winners had at least two previous races that season
  • 12 of last 15 winners placed in their previous race
  • 11 of last 15 winners have won over 1.25 miles or further before
  • 10 of last 15 winners returned 5-1 or shorter in the betting
  • 7 of the last 15 winners won their previous race
  • 4 of the last 15 winners were the race favorite
  • 5 of the last 15 winners had a starting price of 9-1 or greater including 25-1 winners in both 2005 and 2006