Breeders’ Futurity Stakes

Breeders’ Cup Challenge Series > Breeders’ Futurity

Breeders' Futurity Stakes

Breeders’ Futurity Stakes Race Facts

  • Location: Keeneland Race Course, Lexington, KY
  • Inaugural Race: 1910
  • Distance: 1 and 1/16th mile (8.5 furlongs)
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Two Year Olds
  • 2020 Purse: $400,000
  • 2020 Race Date: Saturday, October 3rd

2020 Breeders’ Futurity Race Results

4Essential QualityLuis Saez / Brad H. Cox$5.80 / $4.20 / $3.20
5KeepmeinmindDavid Cohen / Robertino Diodoro$27.00 / $9.00
1Super StockTyler Gaffalione / Steven M. Asmussen$5.40
2UpstrikerJoseph Talamo / Ron Moquett
8FounderJoel Rosario / Chad C. Brown
6Dixie's Two StentsRafael Bejarano / Doug F. O'Neill
7CalibrateRicardo Santana, Jr. / Steven M. Asmussen
9King FuryCorey J. Lanerie / Kenneth G. McPeek
3NotaryJulien R. Leparoux / D. Wayne Lukas

Exotic Payoffs:

  • $2 Exacta (4-5) Paid: $165.40
  • $0.50 Trifecta (4-5-1) Paid: $226.15
  • $0.10 Superfecta (4-5-1-2) Paid: $243.79

Watch the 2020 Breeders’ Futurity

Breeders’ Futurity Stakes Race History

The Breeders’ Futurity Stakes has been a Grade I race since 2004 and is held annually in early October at Keeneland Race Course in Lexington, KY. The race is open to 2-year-olds and run at 1 1/16 miles on the dirt. The Breeders’ Futurity is part of the ‘Road to the Kentucky Derby’, and awards the top-4 finishers (10-4-2-1) points towards qualifying for the Kentucky Derby.  

In addition to the Derby, the Breeders’ Futurity is part of the ‘Win and You’re In’ Breeders’ Cup Challenge series where the winner earns a spot in the $2 million Breeders’ Cup Juvenile. Classic Empire won both the Breeders’ Futurity and Breeders’ Cup Juvenile in 2016.

The Breeders Futurity was first raced in Lexington in 1910, and Polar Expedition (1993) has run the fastest time in 1:42.20. The 10-length margin of victory recorded by Gold Stage in 1979 is also a record. The race was contested at 7 furlongs for 30 years starting in 1950, and in 1981 changed to its current distance of 1 1/16 miles.

The Breeders’ Futurity currently offers a purse of $500,000. Several champions have won the race, including Round Table (1956), Swale (1983), Forty Niner (1987), Boston Harbor (1996), Favorite Trick (1997) and the most recent Classic Empire (2016), who went on to win the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile and capture Champion 2-year-old honors. Other top horses to have captured the race include Tejano Run, Honour and Glory, Cat Thief, Captain Steve and Dullahan.

Jockey Don Brumfield won a record 5 Breeders’ Futurity races over a decade starting in 1969. Trainer D. Wayne Lukas won the race a record 6 times.

Breeders’ Futurity Stakes Past Winners

YearWinnerJockey / TrainerTime
2019MaxfieldJosé Ortiz / Brendan Walsh01:44.2
2018Knicks GoAlbin Jimenez / Ben Colebrook01:44.2
2017Free Drop BillyRobby Albarado / Dale L. Romans01:45.4
2016Classic EmpireJulien Leparoux / Mark E. Casse01:43.4
2015Brody's CauseCorey J. Lanerie / Dale L. Romans01:43.3
2014Carpe DiemJohn Velazquez / Todd Pletcher01:43.4
2013We Miss ArtieJohn Velazquez / Todd Pletcher01:46.9
2012JohaRajiv Maragh / Michael J. Maker01:44.5
2011DullahanKent Desormeaux / Dale L. Romans01:43.1
2010J.B.'s ThunderShaun Bridgmohan / Albert Stall Jr.01:44.1
2009Noble's PromiseWillie Martinez / Kenneth G. McPeek01:43.1
2008Square EddieRafael Bejarano / John R. Best01:43.0
2007Wicked StyleRobby Albarado / George R. Arnold II01:45.2
2006Great HunterVictor Espinoza / Doug O'Neill01:44.1
2005Dawn of WarJohn Jacinto / Dale L. Romans01:48.8
2004ConsolidatorRafael Bejarano / D. Wayne Lukas01:43.7
2003EurosilverJavier Castellano / Nicholas P. Zito01:43.4
2002Sky MesaEdgar Prado / John T. Ward Jr.01:46.8
2001SiphonicChris McCarron / David Hofmans01:43.8
2000Arabian LightShane Sellers / Bob Baffert01:43.0
1999Captain SteveGarrett K. Gomez / Bob Baffert01:42.4
1998Cat ThiefPat Day / D. Wayne Lukas01:44.0
1997Favorite TrickPat Day / Patrick B. Byrne01:43.2
1996Boston HarborJerry D. Bailey / D. Wayne Lukas01:45.2
1995Honour and GloryPat Day / D. Wayne Lukas01:43.2
1994Tejano RunJerry D. Bailey / Kenneth McPeek01:44.6
1993Polar ExpeditionCurt Bourque / Hugh H. Robertson01:42.2
1992Mountain CatPat Day / D. Wayne Lukas01:42.4
1991Dance FloorCharles Woods Jr. / D. Wayne Lukas01:44.2
1990Sir BordeauxWigberto Ramos / Ronnie G. Warren01:44.4
1989SlavicJosé A. Santos / Flint S. Schulhofer01:44.6
1988Fast PlayÁngel Cordero Jr. / C. R. McGaughey III01:45.2
1987Forty NinerEddie Maple / Woody Stephens01:43.8
1986OronoSandy Hawley / Carl Nafzger01:45.2
1985TassoLaffit Pincay Jr. / Neil Drysdale01:46.0
1984Crater FireDaryl Montoya / Dixie H. Griffitt01:45.8
1983SwaleEddie Maple / Woody Stephens01:44.0
1982Highland ParkJohn L. Lively / Anthony L. Basile01:43.6
1981D'AccordDarrel McHargue / LeRoy Jolley01:44.8
1980Fairway PhantomJohn L. Lively / Carl Nafzger01:28.8
1979Gold StageDon Brumfield / William Curtis Jr.01:26.8
1978Strike Your ColorsEd Delahoussaye / Del W. Carroll01:26.2
1977GonquinFrank Olivares / Jerry M. Fanning01:28.0
1976Run Dusty RunDarrel McHargue / Smiley Adams01:27.4
1975Harbor SpringsEddie Maple / Woody Stephens01:27.0
1974Packer CaptainDon Brumfield / Douglas Dodson01:25.8
1973ProvanteMike Manganello / Dave Zakoor Jr.01:27.2
1972Annihilate 'EmDon Brumfield / Douglas M. Davis Jr.01:27.0
1971WindjammerLaffit Pincay Jr. / MacKenzie Miller01:27.2
1970Man of the MomentDon Brumfield / Jack Long01:28.8
1969Hard WorkDon Brumfield / Charles R. Werstler01:25.6
1968DikeEarlie Fires / Lucien Laurin01:26.8
1967T.V. CommercialManuel Ycaza / Anthony L. Basile01:26.8
1966Gentleman JamesJimmy Nichols / Del W. Carroll01:28.0
1965TinsleyJimmy Nichols / Julius E. Tinsley Jr.01:28.4
1964Umbrella FellaJohn Nazareth / Loyd Gentry Jr.01:26.4
1963DuelW. D. Lucas / LeRoy Jolley01:26.2
1962OrnamentoJimmy Lynch / James P. Conway01:26.4
1961Roman LineWilliam M. Cook / Vester R. Wright01:26.6
1960He's a PistolLarney Hansman / J. D. Puckett01:27.0
1959Toby's BrotherJohn L. Rotz / Robert E. Wingfield01:27.2
1958NamonJimmy Combest / Vester R. Wright01:26.8
1957FulcrumJohn Delahoussaye / Jack C. Hodgins01:26.4
1956Round TableSteve Brooks / Moody Jolley01:26.8
1955Jovial JoveDouglas Dodson / Strother Griffin01:23.6
1954Brother TexPete D. Anderson / Woody Stephens01:24.4
1953Hasty RoadJohn H. Adams / Harry Trotsek01:23.2
1952Straight FaceBennie Green / John M. Gaver Sr.01:23.8
1951AlladierCarroll Bierman / Anthony J. Pupino01:23.4
1950Big StretchTed Atkinson / John M. Gaver Sr.01:23.6
1949Oil CapitolKenneth Church / Harry Trotsek01:12.2
1948OlympiaWillie Garner / Ivan H. Parke01:11.6
1947Shy GuySteve Brooks / Jack C. Hodgins01:11.8
1946EducationSteve Brooks / Ivan H. Parke01:11.4
1945PellicleSteve Brooks / E. Leigh Cotton01:12.8
1944Air SailorLeon Haas / Lex Wilson01:12.2
1943DuraznaJesse Higley / John M. Goode01:11.6
1942OccupationLeon Haas / Burley Parke01:14.0
1941Devil DiverConn McCreary / John M. Gaver Sr.01:11.8
1940WhirlawayJohnny Longden / Ben A. Jones01:11.2
1939Roman FlagLeon Haas / Max Hirsch01:10.6
1938JohnstownJames Stout / George Tappen01:11.4