The Breeders’ Cup Juvenile

Major Racing Events > Breeders’ Cup > Juvenile

Breeders' Cup Juvenile banner

2022 Juvenile Entries & ML Odds | 2022 Juvenile ResultsHistory | Records | Past Results

2022 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile

Bet the 2022 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile held at Keeneland on Friday, November 4th.

Official Entries & Morning Line Odds

Race 9, Post Time 5:00 pm (ET)

The FANDUEL BREEDERS’ CUP JUVENILE (GI) presented by Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance is a 1 1/16-mile race for 2-year-old colts and geldings. The race carries a guaranteed purse of $2 million, including travel awards. Horses entered are:

PPML OddsHorseJockey / Trainer
130-1 Hurricane JJoe Talamo / Paulo H. Lobo
230-1 CongruentJose Ortiz / Antonio Sano
34-5 Cave RockJuan Hernandez / Bob Baffert
44-1 ForteIrad Ortiz, Jr. / Todd A. Pletcher
510-1 VerifyingJoel Rosario / Brad Cox
66-1 Blazing SevensFlavien Prat / Chad C. Brown
730-1 Wound UpMario Gutierez / Michael W. McCarthy
820-1 Lost ArkLuis Saez / Todd A. Pletcher
920-1 Curly JackEdgar Morales / Thomas M. Amoss
108-1 National TreasureJohn Velazquez / Bob Baffert

Information and winners of the “Win and You’re In” Challenge Series races for the 2022 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile:

10/7/2023The ChampagneUSA
10/7/2023Breeders' FuturityUSA
10/7/2023American Pharoah StakesUSA

Recent Breeders’ Cup Juvenile News

Tipsheet: 2022 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile

An excellent field of 10 juveniles will travel 1 1/16 miles over the main surface at Keeneland in Friday’s $2 million Breeders’ Cup Juvenile (G1).


Meet the 2022 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile contenders

Handicapper J. Keeler Johnson takes a horse-by-horse look at pre-entries for the 2022 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile (G1) at Keeneland, exploring the pros and cons of each contender.


Breeders’ Cup Juvenile trends on the Road to the Kentucky Derby

Unbeaten Del Mar Futurity (G1) hero Cave Rock will highlight a field of two-year-olds in the 2022 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile (G1) at Keeneland on Nov. 4, part of the 2022 Road to the Kentucky Derby series.


2022 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Results & Payouts

Final Results & Payouts for the 2022 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile:

4ForteIrad Ortiz, Jr. / Todd A. Pletcher$12.04 / $4.76 / $2.64
3Cave RockJuan J. Hernandez / Bob Baffert$2.56 / $2.10
10National TreasureJohn R. Velazquez / Bob Baffert$3.16
6Blazing SevensFlavien Prat / Chad C. Brown
9Curly JackEdgar Morales / Thomas M. Amoss
5VerifyingJoel Rosario / Brad H. Cox
1Hurricane JJoseph Talamo / Paulo H. Lobo
2CongruentJose L. Ortiz / Antonio Sano
7Wound UpMario Gutierrez / Michael W. McCarthy
8Lost ArkLuis Saez / Todd A. Pletcher

Exotic Payouts:

  • $1.00 Exacta (4-3) Paid: $13.65
  • $0.50 Trifecta (4-3-10) Paid: $22.57
  • $0.10 Superfecta (4-3-10-6) Paid: $13.45

Watch the 2022 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile

The BC Juvenile History

The $2 million TVG Breeders’ Cup Juvenile is the richest 2-year-old race in North America. The 1 1/16 mile race, restricted to male 2-year-olds, is often a preview of the stars of the Triple Crown races for the following year. The Juvenile is a season-defining event, as the race often determines the Eclipse Award Champion 2-year-old male, and also the winter-book favorite for the Kentucky Derby. 

Some notable achievements for past Juvenile winners include Timber Country (1995), who became the first Breeders’ Cup Juvenile winner to win one of the U.S. Triple Crown races for 3-year-olds when he won the 1995 Preakness Stakes. The 2006 winner, Street Sense, became the first to capture the Kentucky Derby, and the other Juvenile winner to win the Run for the Roses the following May was Nyquist (2015). 2020 winner Essential Quality was the odds-on favorite in the Kentucky Derby but struggled after losing early position out of the gate. While finishing fourth in the “Run For The Roses”, he bypassed the Preakness and made his next start at the Belmont Stakes where he won by 1 1/4 lengths.

Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Historical Records

Jockeys Laffit Pincay Jr., Mike E. Smith and Jerry Bailey have won the Juvenile a record three times, while Hall of Fame Trainers D. Wayne Lukas and Bob Baffert have captured a record 5 wins.

The Breeders’ Cup Juvenile speed record was set by Midshipman in 2008 when he ran the 1 1/16 mile race in 1:40.94. The late jockey Garrett Gomez rode for trainer Bob Baffert. Overall, the fastest time ever turned in was 1:35.20 by Success Express in 1987 during one of the three years the race was contested at 1 mile.

2022Forte (2)Irad Ortiz, Jr. / Todd A. Pletcher1:43.06 / Keeneland
2021Corniche (2)Mike E. Smith / Bob Baffert1:42.50 / Del Mar Racetrack
2020Essential Quality (2)Luis Saez / Brad H. Cox1:42.09 / Keeneland
2019Storm the Court (2)Flavien Prat / Peter Eurton1:44.93 / Santa Anita Park
2018Game Winner (2)Joel Rosario / Bob Baffert1:43.67 / Churchill Downs
2017Good Magic (2)José L. Ortiz / Chad C. Brown1:43.34 / Del Mar Racetrack
2016Classic Empire (2)Julien Leparoux / Mark Casse1:42.60 / Santa Anita Park
2015Nyquist (2)Mario Gutierrez / Doug O'Neill1:43.79 / Keeneland
2014Texas Red (2)Kent Desormeaux / Keith Desormeaux1:41.91 / Santa Anita Park
2013New Year's Day (2)Martin Garcia / Bob Baffert1:43.52 / Santa Anita Park
2012Shanghai Bobby (2)Rosie Napravnik / Todd Pletcher1:44.58 / Santa Anita Park
2011Hansen (2)Ramon Domínguez / Michael Maker1:44.44 / Churchill Downs
2010Uncle Mo (2)John Velazquez / Todd Pletcher1:42.60 / Churchill Downs
2009Vale of York (2)Ahmed Ajtebi / Saeed bin Suroor1:43.48 / Santa Anita Park
2008Midshipman (2)Garrett Gomez / Bob Baffert1:40.94 / Santa Anita Park
2007War Pass (2)Cornelio Velásquez / Nick Zito1:42.76 / Monmouth Park
2006Street Sense (2)Calvin Borel / Carl Nafzger1:42.59 / Churchill Downs
2005Stevie Wonderboy (2)Garrett Gomez / Doug O'Neill1:41.64 / Belmont Park
2004Wilko (2)Frankie Dettori / Jeremy Noseda1:42.09 / Lone Star Park
2003Action This Day (2)David R. Flores / Richard Mandella1:43.62 / Santa Anita Park
2002Vindication (2)Mike E. Smith / Bob Baffert1:49.61 / Santa Anita Park
2001Johannesburg (2)Michael Kinane / Aidan O'Brien1:42.27 / Arlington Park
2000Macho Uno (2)Jerry Bailey / Joseph Orseno1:42.05 / Belmont Park
1999Anees (2)Gary Stevens / Alex Hassinger Jr.1:42.29 / Churchill Downs
1998Answer Lively (2)Jerry Bailey / Bobby C. Barnett1:44.00 / Gulfstream Park
1997Favorite Trick (2)Pat Day / Patrick B. Byrne1:41.47 / Churchill Downs
1996Boston Harbor (2)Jerry Bailey / D. Wayne Lukas1:43.40 / Hollywood Park
1995Unbridled's Song (2)Mike E. Smith / James T. Ryerson1:41.60 / Woodbine
1994Timber Country (2)Pat Day / D. Wayne Lukas1:44.55 / Belmont Park
1993Brocco (2)Gary Stevens / Randy Winick1:42.99 / Churchill Downs
1992Gilded Time (2)Chris McCarron / Darrell Vienna1:43.43 / Santa Anita Park
1991Arazi (2)Pat Valenzuela / François Boutin1:44.78 / Gulfstream Park
1990Fly So Free (2)José A. Santos / Scotty Schulhofer1:43.40 / Churchill Downs
1989Rhythm (2)Craig Perret / C. R. McGaughey III1:43.60 / Belmont Park
1988Is It True (2)Laffit Pincay Jr. / D. Wayne Lukas1:46.60 / Gulfstream Park
1987Success Express (2)José A. Santos / D. Wayne Lukas1:35.20 / Churchill Downs
1986Capote (2)Laffit Pincay Jr. / D. Wayne Lukas1:43.80 / Hollywood Park
1985Tasso (2)Laffit Pincay Jr. / Neil Drysdale1:36.20 / Santa Anita Park
1984Chief's Crown (2)Don MacBeth / Roger Laurin1:36.20 / Aqueduct