The Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf | Race Profile

Major Racing Events > Breeders’ Cup > Juvenile Turf

Breeders' Cup Landing Page

Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf Results List | Juvenile Turf Contenders |

Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf

The 2020 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf will be held at Keeneland on Friday, November 6th as part of ‘Friday Future Stars.’

There are 5 automatic berths available in the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf through the ‘Win and You’re In’ Challenge Series.

  1. KPMG Champions Juvenile Stakes
  2. Summer Stakes
  3. Juddmonte Royal Lodge Stakes
  4. Dixiana Bourbon S.
  5. Qatar Prix Jean-Luc Lagardere

2020 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf Results & Payouts

Final results for the 2020 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf:

7Fire At WillRicardo Santana Jr.$62.40 / $24.40 / $14.00
9BattlegroundRyan Moore$5.60 / $3.80
8OutadoreJose Ortiz$7.60
5Cadillac (IRE)Shane Foley
1Sealiway (FR)Mickael Barzalona
11Gretzky the Greatyler Gaffalione
14The Lir Jet (IRE)Oisin Murphy
13Devilwawa (IRE)Rossa Ryan
10Ebeko (IRE)Flavien Prat
6Mutasaabeq (IRE)Luis Saez
12Go Athletico (FR)Aurelien Lemaitre
4Public Sector (GB)Irad Ortiz, Jr.
3AbartaUmberto Rispoli
2New Mandate (IRE)Lanfranco Dettori

Exotic Payouts:

  • $1.00 Exacta (7-9) Paid: $275.70
  • $0.50 Trifecta (7-9-8) Paid: $1,142.55
  • $0.10 Superfecta (7-9-8-5) Paid: $2,700.14

The BC Juvenile Turf History

The Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf was inaugurated in 2007 and offers a purse of $1,000,000. It is eligible for two-year-old colts and is run over one mile on a turf surface. In 2009, the race was given a Grade-II status which was upgraded to Grade-I in 2011.

Five races offer automatic berths in to the event and these take place all over the world. These include the Juvenile Turf Stakes in Ireland, Summer Stakes in Canada, Royal Lodge Stakes in England, Bourbon Stakes in the United States and the Prix Jean-Luc Lagardere in France.

Two jockeys have won the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf three times. The first is Hall of Famer Frankie Dettori who scored with Donativum in 2008, Pounced in 2009 and Hootenanny in 2014.

Ryan Moore also won with Wrote in 2011, George Vancouver in 2012 and Hit It A Bomb in 2015. All three of those horses were both trained by Aidan O’Brien and owned by the team of John Magnier, Michael Tabor and Derrick Smith. Both parties own the records for most wins by trainer and owner in the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf.

The fastest time for the race was set by Great Britain’s Outstrip with a time of 1:33.20 in 2013.

The caliber of winners that emerge from the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf has been spotty to a certain degree. Hit It A Bomb finished 9th in the Breeders’ Cup Mile, Nownownow and Donativum won in 2007 and 2008 and only won a single stakes race afterwards before retiring. For almost all other horses, the Breeders’ Cup Juveniel Turf was the only significant win, and their last one as well.

Oscar Performance is seemingly changing that trend after claiming victory in the 2016 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf. The colt has continued to run through 2017 and has picked up three victories in the Pennine Ridge, Belmont Derby and Secretariat Stakes. The Brian Lynch trainee looks to have broken the mold for Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf winners failing to realize higher potential in subsequent seasons.

Breeders’ Cup JUVENILE TURF Historical Records

2019 – SAStructorJ. Ortiz1:35.11
Nov 01 – 1MDrown, Jeff and Rachel, DonC. Brown$5.30
2018 – CDLine of DutyW. Buick1:40.06
Nov 02 – 1MGodolphin, LLCC. Appleby$9.00
2017 – DMRMendelssohn R. Moore01:36.0
Nov 03 – 1MMagnier, Mrs. John, Tabor, Michael and Smith, DerrickA. O’Brien$4.80*
2016 – SA Oscar Performance J. Ortiz01:33.3
Nov 04 – 1MAmerman Racing Stables LLCB. Lynch$6.60
2015 – KEEHit It a Bomb R. Moore01:38.9
Oct 30 – 1MMrs. Evelyn M. StockwellA. O’Brien$7.20
2014 – SA Hootenanny L. Dettori01:34.8
Oct 31 – 1MMagnier, Mrs. John, Tabor, Michael and Smith, DerrickW. Ward$6.00
2013 – SA Outstrip (GB) M. Smith01:33.2
Nov 01 – 1MGodolphin Racing LLCC. Appleby$6.00
2012 – SA George Vancouver R. Moore01:33.8
Nov 03 – 1MMagnier, Mrs. John, Tabor, Michael and Smith, DerrickA. O’Brien$9.30
2011 – CD Wrote (IRE) R. Moore01:37.4
Nov 05 – 1MMagnier, Mrs. John, Tabor, Michael and Smith, DerrickA. O’Brien$11.60
2010 – CD Pluck G. Gomez01:37.0
Nov 06 – 1MTeam Valor InternationalT. Pletcher$6.40
2009 – OSAPounced L. Dettori01:35.5
Nov 07 – 1MLady Serena RothschildJ. Gosden$2.40*
2008 – OSADonativum (GB) L. Dettori01:34.7
Oct 25 – 1MH.R.H. Princess Haya of Jordan and Darley StableJ. Gosden$5.80
2007 – MTHNownownow J. Leparoux01:40.5
Oct 26 – 1MFab Oak StableF. Parisel$12.60

Historical Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf Results:

Read more on who is hot coming into the Friday Future Stars by Joe Kristufek

2019 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf Entries & Morning Line Odds

PPHorseTrainerMorning Line OddsJockey
1 Our CountryGeorge Weaver15-1John Velazquez
2 StructorChad C. Brown5-1Jose Ortiz
3 Peace AchievedMark E. Casse10-1Miguel Mena
4 Decorated InvaderChristophe Clement4-1Irad Ortiz, Jr.
5 Vitalogy (GB)Brendan P. Walsh10-1Javier Castellano
6 Graceful KittenAmador Merei Sanchez15-1Hector Berrios
7 AndesiteBrad Cox12-1Joel Rosario
8 Billy BattsPeter Miller8-1Paco Lopez
9 Gear JockeyGeorge R. Arnold II20-1Tylre Gaffalione
10 War BeastDoug F. O’Neill20-1Abel Cedillo
11 Proven StrategiesMark E. Casse30-1Edgar Zayas
12 Arizona (IRE)Aidan P. O’Brien5-2Ryan Moore
13 Fort MyersAidan P. O’Brien12-1Wayne Lordan
14 Hit the RoadDan Blacker10-1Flavien Prat

2016 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf Results

The 2016 Breeders’ Cup World Championships took place at the Santa Anita Racetrack in Arcadia, California from November 4th to the 5th. It was the 33rd edition of the premier North American horse racing event and featured a number of exciting races and finishes. One of the highlights of the card was the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf (G1).

The $1 million Juvenile Turf was the first race of the 2016 Breeders’ Cup weekend and it set the tone for a fun and exhilarating weekend. Run on Santa Anita’s infield turf course, the one-mile race saw Good Samaritan tabbed as the 5-2 pre-race favorite, but it was 13-2 Oscar Performance who would come away the victor.

The early pace was set by 30-1 longshot Wellabled with fractions of 22:30 and 45.88. Oscar Performance stalked Wellabled and made a move on the far turn to take the lead. The new race leader set fractions of 1:09.44 and 1:21.07, respectively after the 3/4 and 7/8 turns, and would go onto to win by 1 ¼ lengths in a time of 1:33.28 over runner-up Lancaster Bomber. Good Samaritan finished third.

“He played out just like we planned it. That was the key, I think. The key was going through the first turn, have a clean break, and get up a good position in the first turn, and we did that. And he re-lapped well behind Wellabled. I was a little concerned about that, because he had been on the lead lap two times. But he re-lapped well, and when I past the 3/4 pole, I felt like I had a lot of horse under me, when I let him go in the 1/4 pole, he did very well,” said Oscar Performance jockey Jose Ortiz.

Oscar Performance paid $15.20 to win, $8.00 to place, and $5.60 to show. Lancaster Bomber paid $11.20 to place and $6.40 to show. Good Samaritan returned $3.40 for his third-place showing.