The Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint

Major Racing Events > Breeders’ Cup > Filly & Mare Sprint

Breeders' Cup Landing Page

2021 Filly & Mare Sprint Results | 2021 Filly & Mare Sprint Entries & ML OddsHistory | Records | Past Results

2022 Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint

Bet the 2022 Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint held held at Keeneland on Saturday, November 5th.

Information and winners of the “Win and You’re In” Challenge Series races for the 2022 Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint:

7/2/2022Princess RooneyUSACe Ce
8/28/2022The BallerinaUSAGoodnight Olive
10/8/2022Thoroughbred Club of America StakesUSATBD

2021 Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint Results & Payouts

The final results and payouts for the 2021 Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint can be found below.

4Ce CeVictor Espinoza / Michael W. McCarthy$14.40 / $5.20 / $2.40
3EdgewayJoel Rosario / John W. Sadler$9.60 / $3.20
5GamineJohn R. Velazquez / Bob Baffert$2.10
6Bella SofiaLuis Saez / Rudy R. Rodriguez
1Proud EmmaFlavien Prat / Peter Miller

Exotic Payouts:

  • $1.00 Exacta (4-3) Paid: $55.50
  • $0.50 Trifecta (4-3-5) Paid: $59.60
  • $0.10 Superfecta (4-3-5-6) Paid: $13.93

2021 Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint Entries & Morning Line Odds

4th Race, Post Time 12:05 pm ET

A seven furlong race for 3-year-olds and up, fillies & mares. The race carries a guaranteed purse of $1 million, including travel awards. Find the official entries and morning line odds below:

1Proud Emma20-1Peter Miller / Flavien Prat
2Estilo Talentoso12-1Juan Arriagada / Jose Ortiz
3Edgeway12-1John W. Sadler / Joel Rosario
4Ce Ce4-1Michael W. McCarthy / Victor Espinoza
5Gamine3-5Bob Baffert / John Velazquez
6Bella Sofia5-2Rudy Rodriguez / Luis Saez

The BC Filly & Mare Sprint History

The Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint is run around one turn at 7 furlongs (about 1,500 yards) for the fastest females in the world, three-years-old and up. The race has a $1 million purse and was run for the first time in 2007 at Monmouth Park during the first day of the expanded Breeders’ Cup. The 2007 race was held at a distance of 6 furlongs instead of the normal distance of 7 furlongs because of the configuration of the dirt track at Monmouth Park.  

The 6-year-old Maryfield is the oldest winner and she won the inaugural Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint at 6 furlongs. In 2008, Ventura came from the back of the pack along the backstretch to storm home a winner by 4-lengths. She set the Filly & Mare Sprint record for 7 furlongs for a time of 1:19.90 at Santa Anita. The late Garrett Gomez was the rider for the late trainer Bobby Frankel and owner Juddmonte Farms. Ventura and Gomez returned the next year to finish 2nd as the favorite in the 2009 BC Filly & Mare Sprint.

Groupie Doll is the only two-time winner in 2012 and 2013 with jockey Rajiv Maragh riding both times for trainer ‘Buff’ Bradley.

More than any other Breeders’ Cup race, post time favorites have fared the best in the Filly & Mare Sprint. The average payoff in 10 runnings of the BC Filly & Mare Sprint is $13.39. The average field size has been 12.

Wavell Avenue won the 2015 Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint with jockey Joel Rosario’s strong stretch run to reel in the leader late for trainer Chad Brown. Wavell Avenue and Rosario returned in 2016 and finished 2nd behind Finest City, who dug in tenaciously to hold off Wavell Avenue.  

Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint All-Time Records

2021Ce Ce (5)Victor Espinoza / Michael W. McCarthy01:21.0 / Del Mar Racetrack
2020Gamine (3)John Velazquez / Bob Baffert01:20.2 / Keeneland
2019Covfefe (3)Joel Rosario / Brad H. Cox01:22.4 / Santa Anita Park
2018Shamrock Rose (3)Irad Ortiz Jr. / Mark E. Casse01:23.1 / Churchill Downs
2017Bar of Gold (5)Irad Ortiz Jr. / John C. Kimmel01:22.6 / Del Mar Racetrack
2016Finest City (4)Mike Smith / Ian Kruljac01:22.4 / Santa Anita Park
2015Wavell Avenue (4)Joel Rosario / Chad Brown01:22.4 / Keeneland
2014Judy the Beauty (5)Mike Smith / Wesley Ward01:21.9 / Santa Anita Park
2013Groupie Doll (5)Rajiv Maragh / William Bradley01:20.8 / Santa Anita Park
2012Groupie Doll (4)Rajiv Maragh / William Bradley01:20.7 / Santa Anita Park
2011Musical Romance (4)Juan Leyva / William A. Caplan01:23.5 / Churchill Downs
2010Dubai Majesty (5)Jamie Theriot / W. Bret Calhoun1:22:33 / Churchill Downs
2009Informed Decision (4)Julien Leparoux / Jonathan Sheppard01:21.7 / Santa Anita Park
2008Ventura (4)Garrett Gomez / Robert J. Frankel01:19.9 / Santa Anita Park
2007Maryfield (6)Elvis Trujillo / Doug O'Neill01:09.85* / Monmouth Park

*2007 race was run at 6 furlongs instead of usual 7 due to track configuration at Monmouth Park.

Historical Breeders’ Cup Turf Sprint Results:

2019 Entries and Morning Line Odds

PPHorseTrainerMorning Line OddsJockey
1 CovfefeBrad Cox2-1Joel Rosario
2 Danuska’s My GirlDan Ward20-1Geovanni Franco
3 HeavenhasmynikkiRobert B. Hess Jr.20-1Ricardo Santana, Jr.
4 Come DancingCarlos Martin5-2Javier Castellano
5 Lady NinjaRichard Baltas10-1Drayden Van Dyke
6 BellafinaSimon Callaghan6-1Flavien Prat
7 SelcourtJohn W. Sadler10-1Luis Saez
8 Dawn the DestroyerKiaran P. McLaughlin12-1Tylre Gaffalione
9 Spiced PerfectionPeter Miller4-1John Velazquez

*Wagering favorite