2024 Preakness Stakes horses: trainers, jockeys, owners competing in the race

May 18th, 2024

What trainers and jockeys are in the 2024 Preakness Stakes?

1Mugatu20-1Joe BravoJeff EnglerAverage Joe Racing Stables, LTD. And Dan WellsJSM Equine, LLC
2Uncle Heavy20-1Irad Ortiz, Jr.Robert Reid, Jr.Michael Milam and LC Racing, LLCBarbara Reid
3Catching Freedom6-1Flavien PratBrad CoxAlbaugh Family Stables, LLCWinStar Farm, LLC
5Mystik Dan5-2Brian Hernandez, Jr.Kenny McPeekLance Gasaway et alLance Gasaway et al
6Seize the Grey15-1Jaime TorresD. Wayne LukasMyRacehorseJamm, LTD
7Just Steel15-1Joel RosarioD. Wayne LukasBC Stables, LLC and Henry SchmueckleSummerhill Farm
8Tuscan Gold8-1Tyler GaffalioneChad BrownWilliam H. Lawrence et alStonestreet Tbrd Holdings, LLC
9Imagination6-1Frankie DettoriBob BaffertSF Racing, LLC et alPeter E. Blum Tbrds, LLC

Two prominent jockeys to watch


Brian Hernandez Jr. has ridden four times in the Preakness, most notably finishing third aboard Creative Minister in 2022. Winner of the 2004 Eclipse Award for Outstanding Apprentice Jockey, Hernandez secured his first win in a Triple Crown race when guiding Mystik Dan to a rail-skimming Kentucky Derby (G1) triumph two weeks ago.


Internationally renowned jockey Frankie Dettori has won 15 Breeders’ Cup races, but never a U.S. Triple Crown event. Now riding in North America full-time after a career in Europe, Dettori is making his Preakness debut aboard Imagination.

Two prominent trainers to watch


When the 2020 Preakness was postponed until October due to COVID-19, Kenny McPeek sent out his soon-to-be champion filly Swiss Skydiver to beat the boys. McPeek’s 2,000+ career wins include a Kentucky Derby triumph with Mystik Dan and a Belmont with Sarava.


Hall of Fame conditioner Bob Baffert has won the Preakness a record eight times with Silver Charm (1997), Real Quiet (1998), Point Given (2001), War Emblem (2002), Lookin At Lucky (2010), American Pharoah (2015), Justify (2018), and National Treasure (2023). He’ll seek a record-extending ninth win with Imagination.

Preakness Stakes horses