Minnesota Vikings

Owner: Zygi Wilf General Manager: Rick Spielman Head Coach: Mike Zimmer

NFL Championships: 1969 Super Bowl Championships: None

2018 Minnesota Vikings Game Schedule

Week 1 9/9 San Francisco 49ers 1:00pm CBS
Week 2 9/16 at Green Bay Packers 1:00pm FOX
Week 3 9/23 Buffalo Bills 1:00pm CBS
Week 4 9/27 at Los Angeles Rams (Thu) 8:20pm FOX / NFLN
Week 5 10/7 at Philadelphia Eagles 4:25pm FOX
Week 6 10/14 Arizona Cardinals 1:00pm FOX
Week 7 10/21 at New York Jets 1:00pm FOX
Week 8 10/28 New Orleans Saints 8:20pm NBC
Week 9 11/4 Detroit Lions 1:00pm FOX
Week 10 11/11 BYE    
Week 11 11/18 at Chicago Bears 1:00pm FOX
Week 12 11/25 Green Bay Packers 8:20pm NBC
Week 13 12/2 at New England Patriots 4:25pm FOX
Week 14 12/10 at Seattle Seahawks (Mon) 8:15pm ESPN
Week 15 12/16 Miami Dolphins 1:00pm CBS
Week 16 12/23 at Detroit Lions 1:00pm FOX
Week 17 12/30 Chicago Bears 1:00pm FOX

Minnesota Vikings Team History

The Minnesota Vikings became the 14th franchise in NFL history in January 1960. Led by legendary Hall of Fame head coach Bud Grant, the 1969 Vikings won the franchise’s first and only NFL Championship, beating the Cleveland Browns 27-7 in the final pre-merger Championship game. The Vikings were placed in the NFC Central division following the merger and eventually migrated to the NFC North in 2002 after league expansion. As of 2017, the Vikings rank as the 18th most valuable NFL franchise worth $2.4 billion.

After the NFL merger the Vikings were largely successful behind their vaunted “Purple People Eaters” defensive line spearheaded by Hall of Fame defensive tackle Alan Page. With one of the most acclaimed defenses of all time and Hall of Fame quarterback Fran Tarkenton leading the way, the Vikings would go to three Super Bowls in four years, including their most recent appearance in 1976. Although the Vikings have not returned to the Super Bowl, the franchise has been a model of consistency, winning at least three games every season and posting the sixth highest winning percentage in the NFL. Led by quarterback Daunte Culpeppe in 1998 the Vikings, along with Hall of Fame wide receivers Chris Carter and Randy Moss, would play one of the most memorable seasons in franchise history. Although they fell short of the Super Bowl, the 98’ Vikings would post a 15-1 record for the season while setting the then-record NFL season scoring total of 556 points.

A total of 21 members of the Minnesota Vikings are represented in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Most notable amongst them are Tarkenton, Morten Anderson, Moss, Carter, John Randle, Gary Zimmerman and Dave Casper. Brett Favre and Warren Moon, who both had brief runs with the franchise, have also been inducted.

In 2008 Zygi Wilf and five partners purchased the Minnesota Vikings from former owner Red McCombs for a reported $600 million. After taking ownership of the Vikings, Wilf began negotiating the construction the new $1.129 billion U.S. Bank Stadium which eventually opened in 2017. After moving to their new venue, the Vikings bested their 2016 win total by five games going 13-3 SU and 11-7 ATS. Though they reached the NFC Championship, with an opportunity to play at home in the Super Bowl, the team fell to Eagles, prompting ownership to hand quarterback Kirk Cousins an $85 million contract over the next three years. This team is all-in for the 2018 NFL season.

Recent Minnesota Vikings News