2024 Belmont Stakes horses: trainers, jockeys, owners competing in the race

June 8th, 2024

What trainers and jockeys are in the 2024 Belmont Stakes?

1Seize the Grey8-1Jamie TorresD W LukasMyRacehorseJamm, LTD
2Resilience10-1Junior AlvaradoBill MottBushnell, Emily & Waldman,RicPam &Martin Wygod
3Mystik Dan5-1Brian HernandezKen McPeekFour G Racing LLCLance Gasaway, Daniel Hamby &4G Racing LLC
4The Wine Steward15-1Manuel FrancoMichael MakerParadise Farms CorpSequel Thoughbreds LLC.
5Antiquarian12-1John VelazquezTodd PletcherCentennial FarmsBrereton C. Jones
6Dornoch15-1Luis SaezDanny GarganWest Paces LLCGrandview Equine
7Protective20-1Tyler GaffalioneTodd PletcherRepole StableAlpha Delta Stables
8Honor Marie12-1Florent GerouxWhit BeckmanRibble Farms LLCRoyce Pulliam
9Sierra Leone9-5Flavien PratChad BrownMagnier, Mrs John, Tabor, etc.Debby M. Oxley
10Mindframe7-2Irad Ortiz, JrTodd PletcherRepole StableR. Larry Johnson

Five jockeys aim to boost their Belmont wins

Four of the 10 jockeys riding in the 2024 Belmont have previously won the third jewel of the Triple Crown.

Irad Ortiz Jr: Named to ride Mindframe, he has won the Belmont twice aboard Creator (2016) and Mo Donegal (2022). 

John Velazquez: Hall of Fame jockey John Velazquez, riding Antiquarian, has likewise recorded two wins aboard Rags to Riches (2007) and Union Rags (2012).

Luis Saez: Riding Dornoch, he will aim to join Ortiz and Velazquez as twice-victorious Belmont jockeys. Saez steered Essential Quality to victory in 2021.

Manuel Franco: Rider of The Wine Steward, Manuel Franco, will follow Luis Saez and attempt his second victory at the Belmont Stakes. Franco earned his first victory in 2020 when partnered with Tiz the Law. 

Flavien Prat: As one of the most accomplished riders in the nation, he has won the Kentucky Derby aboard Country House (2019) and the Preakness on Rombauer (2021). But the Belmont has proven elusive; his best finish to date was a second riding Hot Rod Charlie (2021). In a quest to complete his personal Triple Crown, Prat is partnering with Sierra Leone for the 2024 Belmont Stakes.

Five prominent trainers to watch for the 156th Belmont Stakes

Six of the 10 Belmont entrants are conditioned by trainers who have previously won the Belmont.

D. Wayne Lukas: Hall of fame trainer, D. Wayne Lukas, has won the Belmont 4 times. Three of those wins occurred during consecutive years (1994-1996), with Tabasco Cat, Thunder Gulch, and Editor's Note. He later picked up his fourth win with Commendable (2000). Lukas will saddle Seize the Grey this Saturday in attempt to get his fifth win.

Ken McPeek: Trainer, Ken McPeek is sending out the 2024 Kentucky Derby (G1) winner Mystik Dan as his Belmone contender. He saddled Sarava to a 70-1 upset in 2002 as one of the biggest longshot wins in the history of the race.  

Bill Mott: Another Hall of Fame conditioner, Bill Mott, won the 2010 Belmont with Drosselmeyer and seeks to take home second win with Resilience.

Todd Pletcher: This hall of fame trainer has won the Belmont 4 times, with a string of more recent success, including Rags to Riches (2007), Palace Malice (2014), Tapwrit (2017), and Mo Donegal (2022). This year he has entered a trio of horses: Antiquarian, Mindframe, and Protective.