Belmont Stakes Trivia


Coglianese Photos/NYRA

It's the final leg of the Triple Crown (until 2020 happened). How many questions can you answer from our list of Belmont Stakes trivia questions?

How old is the Belmont Stakes?
The Belmont Stakes horse race dates back 151 years, the 2020 race in June will be the 152nd running of the race.

When was the first Belmont Stakes?
The first Belmont stakes horse race was held in 1867 at the Jerome Park Racetrack in The Bronx, NY. It is the oldest of the Triple Crown horse races.

Why is the horse race track known as “The Championship Track?
The Belmont Stakes was given this nickname because nearly every major champion in horse racing history since the early 20th century has raced here. That includes all 12 Triple Crown victors.

Who won the first Belmont Stakes?
Ruthless won the first Belmont Stakes in 1867.

Who won the last Belmont Stakes?
The last Belmont Stakes in 2019, was won by Sir Winston.

Where did the Belmont Stakes favorite, California Chrome finish in 2014?
After winning the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes, California Chrome had a chance to win the Triple Crown at the Belmont Stakes. The colt and his jockey, Victor Espinoza, would fall just short of the prize, coming in  4th place.

What distance is the Belmont Stakes?
The Belmont Stakes is the longest of the Triple Crown horse races, reaching 1 ½ miles. Because of scheduling changes related to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 race has been shortened to 1 ⅛ miles (or 9 furlongs).

Who was the first Triple Crown winner?

Sir Barton was the first horse to win the Triple Crown in 1919, with Johnny Loftus as the jockey.

Who was the last Triple crown winner ?
The most recent winner of the prestigious Triple Crown was Justify in 2018.

How many Triple Crown winners have there been?
Since its establishment, there have only been 13 horses to win the triple crown with 23 horses winning the first two horse races, but failing to finish in first in the Belmont Stakes. The 13 Triple Crown winners are as follows:

  • Sir Barton in 1919
  • Gallant Fox in 1930
  • Omaha in 1935
  • War Admiral in 1937
  • Whirlaway in 1941
  • Count Fleet in 1943
  • Assault in 1946
  • Citation in 1948
  • Secretariat in 1973
  • Seattle Slew in 1977
  • Affirmed in 1978
  • American Pharoah in 2015
  • Justify in 2018

What is the average field size in Belmont Triple Crown wins?
The average number of horses in Triple Crown victories is 5.4 starters.

What is the average field size in Belmont Triple Crown losses ?
In losses, the average number of horses in the race reaches 9.2 starters.

What post position has produced the most Belmont Stakes winners?
Post #1 has proven to be the most successful position in Belmont Stakes history, producing a total of 23 winners. The top five winning post positions are as follows:

  • Post 1: 23 Wins
  • Post 3: 13 Wins
  • Post 5: 13 Wins
  • Post 2: 11 Wins
  • Post 7: 11 Wins

What color horses have been most successful in the Belmont Stakes?
With over 101 wins between them, bay and chestnut colored horses have been most successful in the Belmont Stakes.

  • Bay: 51 Winners
  • Chestnut: 50 Winners

Since 1990, how many horses have won the first two legs of the Triple Crown, but lost at Belmont?
Although there have been 23 total near misses of the Triple Crown, there have been 9 since 1990 and they are:

  • Silver Charm 1997
  • Real Quiet 1998
  • Charismatic 1999
  • War  Emblem 2002
  • Funny Cide 2003
  • Smarty Jones 2004
  • Big Brown 2008
  • I'll Have Another 2012
  • California Chrome 2014

Who holds the record for the fastest Belmont Stakes time?
Secretariat set records for all three stages of the Triple Crown and maintains the atop the competition for the Belmont Stakes with a time of 2:24. To reach this time, he averaged 37.5 mph for the entire horse race. His record still stands for the Preakness as well, reaching the finish line in 1:53.

Who was the first female jockey to ride in all three Triple Crown races?
Rosie Napravnik of New Jersey was the first female jockey to break this barrier in 2013.

Which jockey holds the record for most Belmont Stakes wins?
There are actually two jockeys who have won the Belmont Stakes horse race 6 times.

  • Eddie Arcaro (1941, 1942, 1945, 1948, 1952, 1955)
  • Jim McLaughlin (1882, 1883, 1884, 1886, 1887, 1888) 

What is the traditional flower of the Belmont Stakes?
The carnation is the official flower of the Belmont Stakes. Although the origin of this tradition is unknown, carnations stand for love and luck. The flower itself is very hearty, as are the winners of the Belmont Stakes.

Who was the biggest odds winner in the history of the Belmont Stakes?
The largest upset in Belmont Stakes history was Sarava in 2002. Sarava spoiled War Emblem's chances of winning the Triple Crown with 70-1 odds.

What is the record for most Belmont wins by a trainer?
The most decorated trainer in the Belmont Stakes is James G. Rowe, Sr. with 8 wins (1883, 1884, 1901, 1904, 1907, 1908, 1910, 1913).

What is the record for most Belmont wins by an owner?
The most decorated horse owner is Belair Stud with 6 victories (1930, 1932, 1935, 1936, 1939, 1955).

Who holds the record for biggest winning margin in the Belmont Stakes?
Secretariat, one of the best race horses of all time, won the race in 1973 by 31 lengths. Each length, or distance between horses, is about 8ft.

What's At Stake?

The Belmont Stakes may be considered the most exciting of the three horse races of the Triple Crown. Simply anything can happen. Horses with 70-1 odds come out of nowhere to make history, while others strive to be in the company of the 13 Triple Crown champions. With all this excitement, why not place your own bet? Become a member of BetAmerica today, place your bets, and play the odds.<