Preakness Stakes | Winners | Race Profile

Race Events > Preakness Stakes > Preakness Winners

Preakness Stakes

Preakness Stakes Home | Betting | Odds | Handicapping | Prep Races | Winners | History | Results | Tickets | Contenders

Preakness Stakes Winners

Some rivalries have emerged from races leading up to the Triple Crown and ultimately in Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes duels.

Duels which include 2016, when Nyquist won the Kentucky Derby just ahead of Exaggerator. Then Exaggerator would turn the tables on Nyquist to splash home to victory on a sloppy Pimlico track. Or when Sunday Silence and Easy Goer engaged in one of the greatest and most memorable stretch runs in Preakness history. Sunday Silence won the 1989 Preakness Stakes by a nose over Easy Goer after also beating him in the Derby by just over 2 lengths. However, Easy Goer would win the Belmont Stakes and prevent Sunday Silence from winning the Triple Crown.

The last several editions of the Preakness have showcased various superstar performances and prolonged the Triple Crown dreams of several of its winners.

Kentucky Derby winners Big Brown (2008), I’ll Have Another (2012), and California Chrome (2014) all kept their Triple Crown dreams alive when repeating two weeks later in the Baltimore, Maryland classic. American Pharoah (2015) and Justify (2018) did as well, and then succeeded where the others failed, by sweeping the Triple Crown in a Belmont Stakes victory three weeks later.

Kentucky Derby winner Always Dreaming was unable to clinch the 2017 Preakness Stakes, but 2018 Kentucky Derby winner Justify is looks to have a great shot and probable morning line favorite to win. His chances to win the second leg of the Triple Crown seem pretty good against a field most likely sitting under 10 starters at Pimilico. Ten of the last 21 Kentucky Derby winners have gone on to win the Preakness Stakes. 

Other notable Preakness winners and events include filly Rachel Alexandra beating the boys in 2009 (first filly to win since 1924), and Derby winner Barbaro tragically breaking down in the Preakness during the 2006 race. In 2016, a track record 135,256 patrons attended the Preakness at Pimlico despite rainy weather. Those fans bet a record amount of $94,127,434 on Preakness day in 2016.

The last 20 winners of the Preakness:

(* denotes horses that also won the Kentucky Derby)

2018 Justify*

2017 Cloud Computing

2016 Exaggerator

2015 American Pharoah *

2014 California Chrome *

2013 Oxbow

2012 I’ll Have Another *

2011 Shackleford

2010 Lookin at Lucky

2009 Rachel Alexandra

2008 Big Brown *

2007 Curlin

2006 Bernardini

2005 Afleet Alex

2004 Smarty Jones *

2003 Funny Cide *

2002 War Emblem *

2001 Point Given

2000 Red Bullet

1999 Charismatic *

1998 Real Quiet *

Full Preakness Stakes Winner List

Date Horse Jockey Trainer
5/19/2018 Justify Mike Smith Bob Baffert
5/20/2017 Cloud Computing Javier Castellano Chad C. Brown
5/21/2016 Exaggerator Kent J. Desormeaux J. Keith Desormeaux
5/16/2015 American Pharoah Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert
5/17/2014 California Chrome Victor Espinoza Art Sherman
5/18/2013 Oxbow Gary L. Stevens D. Wayne Lukas
5/19/2012 I’ll Have Another Mario Gutierrez Doug F. O’Neill
5/21/2011 Shackleford Jesus Lopez Castanon Dale L. Romans
5/15/2010 Lookin At Lucky Martin Garcia Bob Baffert
5/16/2009 Rachel Alexandra Calvin H. Borel Steven M. Asmussen
5/17/2008 Big Brown Kent J. Desormeaux Richard E. Dutrow, Jr.
5/19/2007 Curlin Robby Albarado Steven M. Asmussen
5/20/2006 Bernardini Javier Castellano Thomas Albertrani
5/21/2005 Afleet Alex Jeremy Rose Timothy F. Ritchey
5/15/2004 Smarty Jones Stewart Elliott John C. Servis
5/17/2003 Funny Cide Jose A. Santos Barclay Tagg
5/18/2002 War Emblem Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert
5/19/2001 Point Given Gary L. Stevens Bob Baffert
5/20/2000 Red Bullet Jerry D. Bailey Joseph F. Orseno
5/15/1999 Charismatic Chris W. Antley D. Wayne Lukas
5/16/1998 Real Quiet Kent J. Desormeaux Bob Baffert
5/17/1997 Silver Charm Gary L. Stevens Bob Baffert
5/18/1996 Louis Quatorze Pat Day Nicholas P. Zito
5/20/1995 Timber Country Pat Day D. Wayne Lukas
5/21/1994 Tabasco Cat Pat Day D. Wayne Lukas
5/15/1993 Prairie Bayou Mike E. Smith Thomas K. Bohannan
5/16/1992 Pine Bluff Chris J. McCarron Thomas K. Bohannan
5/18/1991 Hansel Jerry D. Bailey Frank L. Brothers
5/19/1990 Summer Squall Pat Day Neil J. Howard
5/20/1989 Sunday Silence Patrick A. Valenzuela Charles E. Whittingham
5/21/1988 Risen Star Eddie J. Delahoussaye Louie J. Roussel, III
5/16/1987 Alysheba Chris J. McCarron Jack C. Van Berg
5/17/1986 Snow Chief Alex O. Solis Melvin F. Stute
5/18/1985 Tank’s Prospect Pat Day D. Wayne Lukas
5/19/1984 Gate Dancer Angel Cordero, Jr. Jack C. Van Berg
5/21/1983 Deputed Testamony Donald Andrew Miller, Jr. J. William Boniface
5/15/1982 Aloma’s Ruler Jack Leroy Kaenel John J. Lenzini, Jr.
5/16/1981 Pleasant Colony Jorge Velasquez John P. Campo
5/17/1980 Codex Angel Cordero, Jr. D. Wayne Lukas
5/19/1979 Spectacular Bid Ronald Joseph Franklin Grover G. Delp
5/20/1978 Affirmed Stephen Cauthen Lazaro S. Barrera
5/21/1977 Seattle Slew Jean Cruguet William H. Turner, Jr.
5/15/1976 Elocutionist John Lively Paul T. Adwell