The Breeders’ Cup Mile | Race Profile

Major Racing Events > Breeders’ Cup > Mile

Breeders' Cup Landing Page

| Breeders’ Cup Mile Contenders |

Breeders’ Cup Mile

The 2020 Breeders’ Cup Mile will be held at Keeneland on Saturday, November 7th.

Key summer and fall “Win and You’re In” Breeders’ Cup Challenge Series races to the Mile:

  1. L’Ormarins Queen’s Plate
  2. The Star Doncaster Mile
  3. Gran Premio Club Hípico Falabella Breeders’ Cup
  4. Shoemaker Mile
  5. Yasuda Kinen
  6. Queen Anne S.
  7. Qatar Sussex Stakes
  8. Prix du Haras de Fresnay-Le Buffard – Jacques Le Marois
  9. Ricoh Woodbine Mile
  10. Shadwell Turf Mile Stakes

2020 Breeders’ Cup Mile Results & Payouts

Final Results and payouts for the 2020 Breeders’ Cup Mile:

15Order of Australia (IRE)Christophe Soumillion$148.40 / $57.00 / $25.60
1Circus Maximus (IRE)Ryan Moore$12.60 / $9.00
3Lope Y Fernandez (IRE)Lanfranco Dettori$12.40
11Ivar (BRZ)Joseph Talamo
12Uni (GB)Joel Rosario
10HalladayLuis Saez
2KamekoOisin Murphy
13Factor ThisFlorent Geroux
4SiskinColin Keane
14Raging Bull (FR)Jose Ortiz
5Digital Age (IRE)Javier Castellano
7Casa CreedJunior Alvarado
8March to the ArchTyler Gaffalione
6Safe Voyage (IRE)Jason Hart
9 (SCR)One Master (GB)Pierre-Charles Boudot

Exotic Payouts:

  • $1.00 Exacta (15-1) Paid: $1,058.90
  • $0.50 Trifecta (15-1-3) Paid: $4,393.00
  • $0.10 Superfecta (15-1-3-11) Paid: $15,280.48

The BC Mile History

The world’s best grass milers compete in the $2 million Breeders’ Cup Mile. The turf race is for three-year-olds and up, and Goldikova has won the race a record three times (2008, 2009, 2010). The Breeders’ Cup Mile boasts more multiple winners than any other Breeders’ Cup race. Five horses (Miesque, Lure, Da Hoss, Goldikova, and Wise Dan) have won multiple renewals of the Breeders’ Cup Mile.

The 1984 winner of the first Breeders’ Cup Mile was Royal Heroine. He started as the race favorite at 8-5 odds. In the 33 runnings of the Breeders’ Cup Mile, 11 post time favorites have won the race, and the most recent was also the heaviest bet favorite when Wise Dan (4-5) rallied in the deep stretch to overtake a pair of long shots and win the 2013 edition for his second consecutive Breeders’ Cup Mile win. Wise Dan won a sensational 23 of 32 lifetime races and more than $7.5 million in career earnings.

The Breeders’ Cup Mile record time is 1:31.71 set by Tourist in 2016 at Santa Anita. Joel Rosario was the jockey for trainer Bill Mott.

The 2017 edition saw Europe’s best miler Ribchester face Irish Champion Churchill. Two other top challengers were expected to be Woodbine Mile winner World Approval, and another Irish Champion Decorated Knight.

As you handicap the contenders for the Breeders’ Cup Mile, note that a contender’s final prep race is a key indicator of how well a horse will run in the Breeders’ Cup Mile. Since the year 2003:

  • Four Breeders’ Cup Mile winners also won their final prep race.
  • Four Breeders’ Cup Mile champions finished in 2nd-place in their final prep race.
  • Three Breeders’ Cup Mile victors finished in 3rd-place in their final prep race including 2016 winner Tourist.
  • Miesque’s Approval, Court Vision and Karakontie (JPN) were the only Mile winners who did not finish in first, second, and third in their final prep race (the median win odds for the three of them was 14/1).

These stats should provide you with a helpful blueprint for horses to consider for the 2017 Breeders’ Cup Mile Championship. A first, second, or third place effort in your final Breeders’ Cup prep race has led to 77% of the winners of the Breeders’ Cup Mile (since 2003).

Breeders’ Cup MILE Historical Records

2019 – SAUni (GB)J. Rosario1:32.45
Nov 02 – 1MDubb, M., Head of Plains Partners LLC, LaPenta, R. et alC. Brown$3.60
2018 – CDExpert Eye (GB)L. Dettori1:39.80
Nov 03 – 1MJuddmonte Farms, Inc.M. Stoute$13.80
2017 – DMRWorld ApprovalJ. Velaquez1:34.55
Nov 04 – 1MLive Oak PlantationM. Casse$7.40
2016 – SA Tourist J. Rosario01:31.7
Nov 05 – 1MWinStar Farm LLC, Wachtel Stable and Barber, GaryW. Mott$12.40
2015 – KEETepin J. Leparoux01:36.7
Oct 31 – 1MRobert E. MastersonM. Casse$4.90
2014 – SA Karakontie (JPN) S. Pasquier01:32.9
Nov 01 – 1MFlaxman Holdings, Ltd.J. Pease$30.00
2013 – SA Wise Dan J. Lezcano01:32.5
Nov 02 – 1MMorton FinkC. Lopresti$0.80*
2012 – SA Wise Dan J. Velazquez01:31.8
Nov 03 – 1MMorton FinkC. Lopresti$1.80*
2011 – CD Court Vision R. Albarado01:37.0
Nov 05 – 1MSpendthrift Farm LLCD. Romans$64.80
2010 – CD Goldikova (IRE) O. Peslier01:35.2
Nov 06 – 1MWertheimer and FrereF. Head$1.30*
2009 – OSAGoldikova (IRE) O. Peslier01:32.3
Nov 07 – 1MWertheimer and FrereF. Head$1.40*
2008 – OSAGoldikova (IRE) O. Peslier01:33.4
Oct 25 – 1MWertheimer and FrereF. Head$1.80*
2007 – MTHKip Deville C. Velasquez01:39.8
Oct 27 – 1MIEAH Stables, Cohen, Andrew and John A., Cobb, Steve and Robertson, DougR. Dutrow, Jr.$8.20
2006 – CD Miesque’s Approval E. Castro01:34.8
Nov 04 – 1MLive Oak PlantationM. Wolfson$24.30
2005 – BELArtie Schiller G. Gomez01:36.1
Oct 29 – 1MTimber Bay Farm and Walsh, Mrs. Thomas J.J. Jerkens$5.60
2004 – LS Singletary D. Flores01:36.9
Oct 30 – 1MLittle Red Feather RacingD. Chatlos, Jr.$16.50
2003 – SA Six Perfections (FR) J. Bailey01:33.9
Oct 25 – 1MFlaxman Holdings, Ltd.P. Bary$5.30
2002 – AP Domedriver (IRE) T. Thulliez01:36.9
Oct 26 – 1MFlaxman Holdings, Ltd.P. Bary$26.00
2001 – BELVal Royal (FR) J. Valdivia, Jr.01:32.0
Oct 27 – 1MDavid S. MilchJ. Canani$5.10
2000 – CD War Chant G. Stevens01:34.7
Nov 04 – 1MCowan, Marge and Irving M.N. Drysdale$3.50*
1999 – GP Silic (FR) C. Nakatani01:34.3
Nov 06 – 1MLanni, J. Terrence, Poslosky, Ken, Schiappa, Bernard C., et alJ. Canani$7.20
1998 – CD Da Hoss J. Velazquez01:35.3
Nov 07 – 1MPrestonwood Farm and Wallstreet Racing StablesM. Dickinson$11.60
1997 – HOLSpinning World C. Asmussen01:32.8
Nov 08 – 1MFlaxman Holdings, Ltd.J. Pease$2.10*
1996 – WO Da Hoss G. Stevens01:35.8
Oct 26 – 1MPrestonwood Farm and Wallstreet Racing StablesM. Dickinson$8.45
1995 – BELRidgewood Pearl (GB) J. Murtagh01:43.7
Oct 28 – 1MAnne CoughlanJ. Oxx$2.55*
1994 – CD Barathea (IRE) L. Dettori01:34.5
Nov 05 – 1MAl Maktoum, Mohammed and Leigh, Gerald W.L. Cumani$10.40
1993 – SA Lure M. Smith01:33.6
Nov 06 – 1MClaiborne FarmC. McGaughey III$1.30*
1992 – GP Lure M. Smith01:32.9
Oct 31 – 1MClaiborne FarmC. McGaughey III$5.40
1991 – CD Opening Verse P. Valenzuela01:37.6
Nov 02 – 1MAllen E. PaulsonR. Lundy$26.70
1990 – BELRoyal Academy L. Piggott01:35.2
Oct 27 – 1MClassic Ire StableM. O’Brien$2.80*
1989 – GP Steinlen (GB) J. Santos01:37.2
Nov 04 – 1MWildenstein StableD. Lukas$1.80
1988 – CD Miesque F. Head01:38.6
Nov 05 – 1MFlaxman Holdings, Ltd.F. Boutin$2.00
1987 – HOLMiesque F. Head01:32.8
Nov 21 – 1MStavros NiarchosF. Boutin$3.60
1986 – SA Last Tycoon (IRE) Y. Saint-Martin01:35.2
Nov 01 – 1MRichard C. StraussR. Collet$35.90
1985 – AQUCozzene W. Guerra01:35.0
Nov 02 – 1MJohn A. NerudJ. Nerud$3.60
1984 – HOLRoyal Heroine (IRE) F. Toro01:32.6
Nov 10 – 1MRobert E. SangsterJ. Gosden$1.70*
* Wagering favorite  

2019 Breeders’ Cup Mile Entries & Morning Line Odds

PPHorseTrainerMorning Line OddsJockey
1 Suedois (FR)David O’Meara20-1Javier Castellano
2 LucullanKiaran P. McLaughlin12-1Luis Saez
3 Space Traveller (GB)Richard A. Fahey12-1Daniel Tudhope
4 Trais Fluors (GB)Ken Condon20-1William James Lee
5 True Valour (IRE)Simon Callaghan20-1Drayden Van Dyke
6 Got StormyMark E. Casse7-2Tyler Gaffalione
7 BoloCarla Gaines30-1Julien Leparoux
8 El TormentaGail Cox12-1Eurico Da Silva
9 Circus Maximus (IRE)Aidan P. O’Brien3-1Ryan Moore
10 Without Parole (GB)Chad C. Brown20-1Irad Ortiz, Jr.
11 Uni (GB)Chad C. Brown7-2Joel Rosario
12 Lord Glitters (FR)David O’Meara12-1Jamie Spencer
13 Hey Gaman (GB)James Tate12-1Lanfranco Dettori
14 Bowies HeroPhilip D’Amato12-1Flavien Prat